You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curangel downvotes and Hive

in Curangel4 years ago

I'd agree that it's not worth tainting the good that curangel does over the downvotes. Disagreement over rewards was always a dodgy reason in my opinion. I get the impression you're leaning towards leaving it to hivewatchers and happily support that.

Sort:  

"Disagreement over rewards was always a dodgy reason in my opinion."

Interesting.

I always thought of that as one of the more legitimate reasons, as it speaks directly to what a downvote does mechanically. I can't say I've done it much for that reason, but when obviously low effort posts get huge rewards it makes some sense to me.

I'm pretty loose with the downvotes though, at least philosophically. Practically speaking the vast majority of my votes are upvotes.

I'm glad to see a diversity of opinion here.

Admittedly, sometimes it's pretty obvious when a post is over rewarded, but it can be hard to draw a line.

Yeah, seems like the cleanest solution right now

I think this is the direction I would go, for now. If in the future there are many more people here, then the decision could be reviewed.