You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confessions of a Breastfeeding Mother

in Motherhood2 years ago

This is why I love you.

Some of the things you said have helped me be at ease. I do look at all of the other things I do to keep them healthy. I know I have worked hard and have put my all into my babies but this one really has gotten the best of me.

The doctor didn’t say those exact words but after I told him I only nursed for three months I gathered from his response that her nursing longer might have been a preventative factor. He then talked about the benefits of the milk and why they need it. I don’t think it was his intention to make me feel bad but after I left I balled…literally right in my car in their parking lot.

There have been other things over the years that we’ve went through and that question always comes up “what if I would have nursed longer?” Like, it haunts me. I know I need to realize I can’t control everything and nursing doesn’t prevent every harmful thing under the sun from happening.

Yes, eight months is amazing and deserves to be acknowledged. You did wonderfully! You can say that again about mastitis! Geez it was worse than labor for me…seriously I felt that way.

I really appreciate your words of comfort and taking the time to share a little of your own experience with me. I know and believe my little girl will be fine and I will get through this mental battle ~ 💚