You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confessions of a Breastfeeding Mother

in Motherhood2 years ago (edited)

That doctor said WHAT!!!!! THAT IT COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED IF YOU BREASTFED MORE??? Honestly I'm so, so mad I could SCREAM. That is such a shitty thing to say. Way to lay on the guilt!!!! Three months is perfect and don't think otherwise.

I was only able to breastfeed him for six months.

Only?? Are you kidding? That's a great effort. Babies get all the good stuff in first three weeks so anything beyond that is amazing. I did 8 months and it broke my heart when he decided to stop (stubborn Taurus who made up HIS mind it was done) and the Nursing Mothers Association were terrible, basically made me feel guilty and got me to try all these torturous tricks to get him back on boob, which made the weaning experience terribly sad. Why didn't they say good job for doing 8 months? 8 months is great!! I'm always dubious bout the recommendations that come from people with vested interest to promote one thing or another. And all babies are different.

I'm sorry you had a tough time when you breastfed as it can be a lovely experience (was for me - although I got mastitis twice, which is a hell on earth men could NOT deal with themselves ahah) but please don't beat yourself up about it. Plenty of kids get less and grow up just super, healthy and adjusted. You do lots of other things to keep them healthy and will throughout their lives.

It's time society put less pressure on mother's to believe they have to do one thing or another.

You are doing just perfectly as you are, and your baby girl will be just fine.

Sort:  

This is why I love you.

Some of the things you said have helped me be at ease. I do look at all of the other things I do to keep them healthy. I know I have worked hard and have put my all into my babies but this one really has gotten the best of me.

The doctor didn’t say those exact words but after I told him I only nursed for three months I gathered from his response that her nursing longer might have been a preventative factor. He then talked about the benefits of the milk and why they need it. I don’t think it was his intention to make me feel bad but after I left I balled…literally right in my car in their parking lot.

There have been other things over the years that we’ve went through and that question always comes up “what if I would have nursed longer?” Like, it haunts me. I know I need to realize I can’t control everything and nursing doesn’t prevent every harmful thing under the sun from happening.

Yes, eight months is amazing and deserves to be acknowledged. You did wonderfully! You can say that again about mastitis! Geez it was worse than labor for me…seriously I felt that way.

I really appreciate your words of comfort and taking the time to share a little of your own experience with me. I know and believe my little girl will be fine and I will get through this mental battle ~ 💚