I never saw your eyes

in Motherhood3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


If you ever had to say an earthly goodbye to a loved one or had to support anyone going through loss and fertility challenges, this poem will resonate with you.

Today I am sharing this poem, one of the very first poems Hubbylicious @imwatsi and I wrote together, in the hopes that it will restore hope, peace and healing.

I never saw your eyes (the poem) is based on the book: I never saw her eyes: Gaining from the pain of loss written by my beloved sister Keletso Yende.

Anyone who has suffered loss can gain from the insights about grief and healing found in this book. It also gives a fresh perspective on how discovering one’s true identity and purposeful living can enhance one’s quality of life.

I trust you will enjoy the poem- yes it is one of my favourites.


I never saw your eyes (poem)

Foundations cracked
And I felt my world crumble from beneath

The stillness of silence spoke volumes

My path disappeared before my eyes
Past, present and future changed
I had no idea
Where to put my foot

I mourn...
I cry
I wrestled with the reality that you were no more

I wonder what your laugh would've sounded like
Giggles and sounds of pure joy

I never saw your eyes
Yet through your shut
I found my sight

The sight that opened my eyes to the endless possibilities of light

Aye the dualities of life...

We laugh and we cry
We live and we die

Smiles and frowns
Highs and lows
Ups and downs

We transcend
And grow from life's vicissitudes

As reality fuses and fusses with conceptions and misconceptions of loss
Attitudes create the ultimate latitude

I conceived much more than I had hoped

I never saw your eyes
Yet through your shut eyes
I found my voice

Life comes bearing lessons
Wrapped in pain
For without pain
Pleasure cannot be defined

I never saw your eyes
But that's just you signalling me to shut mine from pain
Yes I gained

Wisdom, courage, strength
The ability to pay forward the gain from my pain
All that from loss I gained

I mourned
I cried
I wrestled with the idea that you are no more

I now know more
More of you lives
More of me lives

I know more than I could see through the pain

I felt you
As you kicked
And grew within me

You felt me
As I cared for you
With all that was within

I find solace
In the moments we shared
Even though you didn't see me
From the outside
You felt my love, and saw me
From the inside

I never saw your eyes
But you opened my eyes

Unconditional, unbounded
Love that lives through generations to come

Oh yes my eyes are open
Pain is but a temporary thing
Open yours
Today........


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Writing this with you was an enlightening experience and I enjoyed every moment :)

Congratulations @ladymwatsi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day