You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: They’ve Always Loved You…but Do They Like You?

in Motherhood2 years ago

You know I'm reading you and I feel that my ex-husband must feel very identified with you?

And it is because boys tend to feel more comfortable with the mother and girls, with the father because they unconsciously seek to feel protected. You know, the feminine instinct to look for strong arms to protect us. My son, who is also about to turn 12, has felt more affinity with me since he was a child than with his father, and his father has always been a great father, but Gabriel, my son prefers to be with me.

It is normal. The nice thing is that you and your daughter, you laugh, you share together and I am sure that once she is a teenager, you will be the one she will turn to for advice and her need for support will be with you. Nice post, I loved it.

Sort:  

This response was really good to hear!

I have noticed this even in my own home ( my boys do love cuddling with me). You’re right about the seeking protection. I notice both my girls really stick close to their dad when we’re out and about or in an unfamiliar place.

That’s so sweet that your son tends to be with you. Makes sense why sons tend to look for a spouse that has the same qualities as their mother and vice versa with the daughters :)

Yes, I know she’s getting ready to go through more changes especially with puberty so I’ll be sticking close by to be here for her whenever she needs me.

Thanks so much for such nice and thoughtful feedback ~ ❤️

The key is a lot of patience and that love you have plenty of for her 💐.

😉☺️