Gratitude for our Little People and Childhood Cancer Awareness

Hey everyone, this is a very personal and deep reflective post; about a day in my life when everything changed! Exactly two years ago today, I received a phone call that would turn our world upside down. It is a date which is now etched firmly in my mind, and I imagine it always will be.

Devin.jpg.jpg

It was a sunny afternoon so I was sitting in the garden. My youngest son, just two years old, had recently had an operation following symptoms noticed in the early part of the first pandemic lockdown period in the UK. Detailed investigations were then carried out on what was removed, and the phone call received; confirmed what was feared; my ‘baby’ had a rare childhood cancer, which I was told was called Rhabdomyosarcoma. At this point the consultant ran through the initial further tests; chemotherapy schedule and so on.

Devin2.jpg.jpg

Thankfully my son is now doing quite well and the regular MRI scans, chest X-rays and consultant appointments over recent months have all been positive. However; any kind of cancer treatment leaves ongoing health issues for the person diagnosed; as well as personal trauma to heal from for all those affected. In fact, as a parent going through the experience; I had to undergo many counselling sessions. My son, has still even recently been experiencing anaemia, fatigue, aches and pains, digestive and appetite issues, disturbed sleep patterns to name a few. However, his hair has grown back and to be honest it's long for a boy as I now don't want to cut it! Generally he is looking so much better in himself. He never did stop smiling throughout though bless him.

Devin3.jpg.jpg

I’m not sharing this to scare anyone, receive sympathy or bring anyone down. However; I do really want to raise awareness of childhood cancer; as well as the ongoing after effects of cancer overall, as many people assume that following treatment all is then well. They also mostly do not release the ongoing emotional and psychological trauma it causes to the individual affected or their close relatives.

Reflecting on that date two years ago it makes me so very grateful that we were able to come through that and that I still have my youngest son. I’m also really glad that two years later one of my other son’s birthdays which is tomorrow; is no longer overshadowed by the memory of finding out his little brother had cancer and seeing his Mum so upset on his birthday. Thankfully whilst having his friends round for a celebration tea; that memory was now far from his mind and I hope it will remain that way moving forward.

Try to make the most of the little special moments and make memories to appreciate and hold onto and be grateful for all that you have in your life. Give your little people an extra special hug tonight and send out thoughts of gratitude that you have them in your life. My thoughts also go to out any parent that has not been so fortunate on this type of journey.

Devin4.jpg.jpg

All writing and photographs are original and copyright to myself. Photos are taken on the phone that I had at the time.

Sort:  

Friend thank you for sharing with us your story that nourishes us and allows us to reflect, I ask God for total healing for your little one, may He give you and your mother the strength to continue in the battle, your son is precious, I send you a hug from Margarita, Venezuela.

Thank you, I really appreciate it, much love and blessings to you and yours also.💜

Congratulations @resiliencelouise! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April Power Up Month Winners
Feedback from the May 1st Hive Power Up Day
Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!