brijwhiz cross-posted this post in kindness 20 days ago


The Power Of Kindness

in Hive Learners23 days ago (edited)

The Power Of Kindness

Photo by Karolina Grabowska

As humans one quality all of us should possess is the act of extending help to others. Most folks when they hear about help, their mind quickly jumps into the area of money. Well, money seems to be what everyone needs but there are situations where it can't help.

Aside from financial assistance, there are several other ways to put smiles on the faces of people. Our time, attention, and many others are also priceless commodities that people will always appreciate.

I am saying this to remind all of us that helping people around us is an obligation, and we don't really have an excuse. Showing compassion towards one another is what makes us humans, don't exempt yourself. You don't know what that little assistance you render to someone can do in their life. Sometimes you can be their last hope.

My Case

About three years ago, there was a time in my life when I was so challenged financially that I had to stop going out in order to avoid any form of embarrassment.

One of those days, I was in my room sleeping when I got a call from a new number. At first, I was skeptical about whether to pick or not because at that time, there was a rumor about picking calls from strange numbers and either disappearing or losing some vital body organs.

So I was scared, when I finally picked up, a deep voice started scolding me, "Emreal, do you know how many times I have come looking for you? Where have you been?"

I was confused, "please who are you?" I asked. He laughed, "It's Philip, your primary schoolmate."

"Philip," I exclaimed, "where have you been? Wait, how did you get my number?" I asked out of curiosity.

"Emreal, stop asking questions, are you home?" He asked. "Yes, I am," I replied.

"Come outside then, I am behind your house under the mango trees," he responded.

On hearing that, I quickly rushed outside and there he was looking all grown up, twice the height I suspected, looking fresh and by his outfit, you will know that he is on money.

We hugged each other and spoke for long. He was my best friend during primary school, those days we were almost like twins.

I learned he is into crypto and forex trading, I was happy for him because the result is evident in him.

After talking for a long period of time, he told me he wanted to go back to Warri. He was even supposed to go the previous day but he had to come and see me. He met my mom in the market and she told him am around.

While he was about to go he asked for my account number and I gave him, immediately he transferred some money into my account.

I felt like carrying him on my back that day. It was just God that sent him. I was out of almost everything, soap, toothpaste, and so on, and you know it's not easy to go about asking your parents for those things knowing fully that you are an adult.

I just wish I could repay him, but he doesn't need my money. The best I could do is do likewise to another person

After the event, I knew the relevance of extending help to people even without them necessarily asking you.

Since then, anytime I am with someone whether my friend or not and I notice the person is in need, whether he/she asked me for help or not, if I have what it takes I support the person. I know what it means to be lacking, and it's not a good experience at all. Phillip's act of kindness taught me how to love and share what I have with people.

Thanks For Reading

Sort:  

Congratulations @brijwhiz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 1000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 1500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge

Many Thanks Briz