You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why not Kindness

in kindness6 months ago

Welcome to the kindness community! Really glad to have you here. The kindness collaboration with @dreemport ended today, but I am continuing the kindness challenge until the end of March, it's just not with the dreemport part of the challenge. I will be posting a kindness fact every day, and some ideas for kind acts.
Empathy and compassion is truly what kindness is all about. We can build people up or we can tear them down.It is something we need to think about if we can before we speak from a place of anger. I lost my cousin and grandmother over words said to them and nearl;y myself too.

Children are taught and model what they see. Even when we do not think they understand or notice something, they are soaking things up. Children are the future, we are raising our future leaders, thinkers, teadvers, doers.

Lack of empathy can be for so many reasons, but the main reason is it was not taught or allowed, was unsafe or dangerous to practice, although we can emphasize without taking actions. It depends on the situation and if actions are needed, but some people can not relate to other people's pain.

Trauma can be a huge obstacle for kindness, especially to oneself. Sometimes when someone is kind, as you mention, they can be exploited or taken advantage of. That could prevent someone from being as kind or as often as before. But I believe that what goes around, comes around, people will one day have to account for their actions. That is something we can not escape. Tradition, culture, societal norms and other obstacles perpetuate a cycle of oppression and hostility. We have more in common than we don’t, we need each other. I long for a day when everybody will see that. I believe it starts with conversation and education right.

I loved your kindness diary!

Sort:  

Thank you @gregscloud I really appreciate your words, I'll look out for the kindness fact everyday.