You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Barriers to Kindness

in kindness2 months ago

The ripple effect does not necessarily have to emanate from those that we rendered kindness to, perhaps reason why it must be genuine and unconditional.

Stress can cause us to react badly to situations that could help us to be kind.

I have been a victim of empathy fatigue which mostly draws me back from being helpful. This has been very helpful.

Here in Nigeria, there's a fear to be kind to strangers mostly as a result of evils perpetrated in the society.

Sort:  

Safety should always come first. I have experienced empathy fatigue many times; it occurs when we care deeply as empaths and can take on others' pain. We must protect ourselves as we might attract narcissists. They say opposites attract, and I have found myself in relationships/marriages with narcissists. It is a truly intriguing topic.

You are a good person and must be mindful of the very real dangers; no one can fault you for prioritizing personal safety. We are of no use to others if we are not safe, right? I appreciate you, my friend.

Thank you for your kind words. This is an eye opener for us to stay vigilant and safe