AGARICUS CAMPESTRIS (and some other stuff on the meadow)

in Fungi Loverslast year

On the 15th of September 2022, I found a couple of mushrooms on one of the meadows along the road that leads to Shishan, a village situated six or seven kilometers north of my hometown.

IMG_8812 malo.jpg

I don't have anything new to show, the species you'll see here already appeared in some of my old posts, but the photographs always end up being different on different occasions, so you'll see a brand new post about some old, slightly repetitive stuff.

(Enlargeable)

Agaricus campestris is easy to spot in the grass because its milky white color stands out from the surroundings.

(Enlargeable)

This edible mushroom is delicious. It smells good, it tastes good, and its tissue is very meaty.

(Enlargeable)

The mushroom is fairly photogenic as well.

IMG_8818 samoMALO.jpg

Here you can see a small weevil found on the ground under the mushroom. Can't tell you the name of this species from the Curculionidae family.

(Enlargeable)

This much smaller mushroom has grown closer to the edge of the meadow.

IMG_8830 malo.jpg

The meadow was and still is, surrounded by oak trees so is no wonder that I found a fallen acorn less than a meter from the mushroom.

IMG_8833 malo.jpg

I'm not sure about this species. It could be Stropharia coronilla. If it is, it's poisonous. I was sitting on the humid ground while photographing the mushroom ...

(Enlargeable)

... and soon I noticed plenty of lovely droplets on the small plants around me ...

IMG_8839 samoMALO.jpg

... so some of those tiny pearls ended up being a part of this mushroom-themed post. While photographing the droplets on the leaves ...

(Enlargeable)

... I accidentally knocked over the small mushroom. Which is good, actually ...

(Enlargeable)

... because I was able to explore the gills under the cap with the mushroom in that position. This and the previous photograph were taken with the flash of my camera on.

IMG_8849 malo.jpg

Here you can see the same scene in ambient light. In the following photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... you can take a good look at the entire meadow and the wall of shrubs and trees around it.

(Enlargeable)

I found an interesting fly with painted wings on one of the shrubs in the green barrier.

IMG_8864 malo.jpg

When it comes to the name of the species, I'm not sure about that. Could be the Euthycera chaerophylli. Maybe. The genus is Euthycera and the family is Sciomyzidae, that much is sure. In the following photograph ...

IMG_8853 malo.jpg

... the focus is down on the ground again. This is a puffball mushroom. Lycoperdon pratense is the name of the species. These puffballs are edible only in the early stage of their development when the tissue is firm and white before the spores are produced.

IMG_8854 samoMALO.jpg

A minuscule beetle was running across the spherical mushroom. It was running pretty fast so I was able to get only one shot, and not a particularly good one. You can see only the backside of the insect. I have no idea about the species.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see an old Lycoperdon pratense fruiting body ...

(Enlargeable)

... that was ready to release the spores.

(Enlargeable)

On a rainy day (or night) the force of the raindrops falling on the sack will send the fine powder made of spores out of the mushroom and into the air.

(Enlargeable)

A couple of meters from the puffball I found and photographed this Salvia verbenaca flower. In the following photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... you can see the entire plant.

IMG_8829 malo.jpg

I found another Agaricus campestris mushroom before leaving the meadow.

IMG_8827 malo.jpg

This species is closely related to the cultivated champignons that can be found and bought in grocery stores.

(Enlargeable)

AND THAT'S IT. THE POST ENDS HERE. HOPE YOU ENJOYED THE TOUR AROUND THE MEADOW. AS ALWAYS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK.

THE END

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @taniagonzalez ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Do you pick them? I know a few edible mushrooms, but I’m not familiar with this one. Everything with gills I avoid, except for maybe 2 species that I can recognise 100% 😁

Yes, I pick them when I'm in the mood for a mushroom-based lunch, dinner, or breakfast. I pick ... let me count ... 12 species, I think. But some of them I rarely encounter. So usually, my mushroom diet revolves around 4 or 5 species. But I don't eat them often. When I photograph things around, picking them is an annoyance because carrying the basket while searching for insects and various stuff is no fun😃 Most of the time I let the edible mushrooms be just like the poisonous ones.

Oh dear! I don’t think I could walk past an edible mushrooms 🙊 but I only use my phone to take pictures, so I snap a picture and the! I pick it up 😁

I have developed a greater appreciation for mushrooms now that I have started taking pictures of them. Not pictures as great as yours but they are magnificent structures.

Love the extreme closeups and detail!

Hi @borjan; that mushroom sure is big; around here I have never seen an edible mushroom the ones that come out are small and not edible. Thanks for sharing such great pictures.
26.jpg

The puffball mushroom 🍄😱. It looks a lot like a coconut fluf marshmallow from where I'm from. I assume it won't tast the same 😅. This was a good dose of shrooms 😎

Nice photos of mushrooms. That colorful fly is very strange and interesting.

We usually find this mushroom growing around a collapsed banana garden, thank you for your interesting post, Mr. @borjan

This type of mushrooms looks amazing. I found some frog umbrella mushrooms few months ago. Those are wonderful. Nice photography

Beautiful finds @borjan 😎 of mushrooms.
The weevil is cute 🤓
Have a lovely day today!

Thanks. 🙂 Have a great day.

You are welcome 👋🏻😊 thanks a lot!

The Meadow Mushroom has another name and it is called field mushroom. It is a widely distributed and well-known mushroom that belongs to the Agaricaceae family. It is non toxic and also used in cooking but it is recommended that you must have enough knowledge to identify it.

Wao you have find very great and amazing pictures of mushroom. There are many types of them, some are also used for food and drink. These are also mostly used to make tablet's. We have to pay for these things at the store, if we want we can take them from here and eat them. Insects images also looks very wonderful. Thanks for sharing this great and valuable knowledge about mushrooms.

You're so good at spotting where the mushrooms are. Nice photos too.

I like mushrooms like the ones you share because of course they have a very perfect shape that makes me like them and you also take them well.

Great mushrooms pics bro...

See the Agaricus looking photogenic 😂😂😂

Foto jamur tersebut benar-benar sangat indah dan unik

Terima kasih

your eyes are very sharp, very easy to find hidden objects