Porcini in New Zealand

in Fungi Lovers2 years ago

This is my first post in the Fungi Lovers community. I hope you enjoy my post and would love to read posts from other community members as well.

This weekend I had a proper rest after a hectic week at work. Those precious moments help me regain positive energy in life. I knew exactly what I wanted to do on my weekend so I had arranged to do all housework in just 1 hour on Saturday morning.

Right after that, I headed up to a mountain near my place to find the pretty mushrooms growing in late summer. Two weeks ago it rained a lot, and every time it rains for two days and two nights, there will be a lot of mushrooms in the area where I live.

Before, when I didn't know much about mushrooms, I just dared to go and see them. But after reading more books and researching online how to tell the difference between edible mushrooms and poisonous mushrooms. I have started going mushroom hunting. For me, going foraging like this is a time when I get to connect and learn more about nature.

I understand the importance of fungi in the chain of nature. Without fungi, or to be more precise, mycelium, all the dead tree trunks and dead animals would not be able to decompose. Then I learned that mycelium would be almost everywhere. In the forest that I come to, every step I take is associated with a network of mycelium underneath.

Thanks to these networks, trees and plants in the forest can also connect with each other, just like humans can talk, so trees can communicate. Just thinking about this makes my heart glow with indescribable joy like I am also talking with life here. Although I don't speak the same language, I can feel the same colourful life here.

The mushroom I was looking for today is porcini. This species is quite common in summer and autumn

One week after heavy rain, such lovely mushroom will start to grow in this forest

One of the rules when going mushrooms hunting is do not pick everything, leave the young ones so it can grow and do its business. So I tried to cover all these little guys with pine branches

When going mushroom hunting, I always brought a knife and a mushroom bag with me. Because breaking mushrooms by hand will easily affect the mycelium network, cutting with a knife will protect them

Although this is a familiar forest to me because I often walk up here, I have only recently been interested in searching for mushrooms. Interestingly, the old road is like new again when I have the opportunity to take a closer look at the ground. I also don't forget to collect garbage around to keep the forest greener and cleaner.

Every time I go looking for mushrooms or herbs like dills or parsley, I get to understand the forest better. I spend a lot of time sitting down and looking at the forest instead of just passing by as usual. Each time I see a new plant or wildflower that I have never seen before.

Life is amazing, what we know and what we see is just a small part of everything. I am so excited and can't wait to see and learn more. And just like this, I am re-charge with full positive energy for a new week.

Other mushrooms I found on the way:

Have a great start to your new week everyone!

divider.png

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Thank you. Really appreciate your support

Wow! that's so big.
I think it's really fun to pick mushrooms, I still remember the time we were woofing and picking mushrooms together for 2 days haha.

Oh yes I remember you made a really yummy mushroom soup. I think I developed the love for mushroom hunting since that time. And do you remember the cherry tomatoes, they were plenty at that time of the year

Yeah, the tomatoes were amazing as well.
Oh I miss mushroom soup 🍲 😆

Wow, the mushroom you show is very cool and very beautiful.

Thank you. I am so glad you like them as well

Ôi cái mushroom to bằng cái mặt nàng í :) Mà sau mưa có vẻ mọc nhiều và to nàng nhỉ. Nhưng chắc chắn nấm này ăn được chứ. Trong đầu tui hay sợ lỡ hái nẩm trong rừng mà mình không biết loại gì thì sợ nấm độc í nàng :)

Hehe tôi có đọc sách với ngâm cứu đàng hoàng hết rồi nàng ơi. Có hai điều cơ bản để phân biệt nấm độc và nấm ăn được. Một là nếu nàng bóc lớp vỏ trên mặt nấm, để một lúc mà thấy có chuyển sàng màu vàng thì khả năng cao là nấm độc. Nấm này thì chuyển sang màu hồng nhạt, có nấm thì lại chuyển màu xám tối.

Điều thứ hai là nếu ngửi mùi nấm mà có mùi hoá chất là nấm độc. Nấm ăn được sẽ có mùi như nấm mình mua ở siêu thị.

Tôi còn có thêm điều thứ 3 là luôn nhìn thấy ngừoi khác đi hái và ăn cùng loại nấm đó rồi mới đi hái. Tôi cũng để ý điều kiện sinh trưởng của từng loại, chỉ hái ở những nơi thường mọc. Như nấm porcini này là ở rừng thông hoặc là oak trees. Rồi khi mới bắt đầu tôi chỉ ăn một ít và luôn để lại một phần nấm để đề phòng. Nhưng nấm tôi hái toàn là nấm mà ngừoi ta ăn phổ biến ở đây nên cũng không lo lắm

Thanks nàng đã chia sẻ mấy tips này :) Đúng là ở bển nấm mọc lên vẫn còn cho nàng hái, chứ ở đây chắc trọc đồi rồi nè :) Tui cực kỳ thích ăn lẩu nấm nàng ạ :)

Uh mà ở nhà còn sợ bị nhiễm độc nữa. Nấm này mà mọc ở gần khu công nghiệp là nó sẽ hấp thụ nhiều độc tố lắm.

What I didn't know for sure was that white mushrooms grow in New Zealand. You have an excellent harvest and trophy mushrooms).

Thank you. I was so happy to find these guys. What kind of white mushroom you are talking about? Are they growing in the grass field or white forest?

You have a beautiful fat mushroom, that's so cool

thank you. I was stoked when I found them. My first time to see a cute and fat mushroom like that :)

very interesting mushroom... i like it very much

Agree. Mushroom world is so interesting and I would love to discover more.

in my area there are many types of mushrooms... I often find mushrooms while working in the forest

White mushrooms! We in the village have never been so big and many! We only found one small and one big together. And if you are unlucky then the big rotten 😢😥

very nice and unique

Congratulations @dora381! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 1500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 20