Are These Reishi Mushrooms Or Not? これは霊芝きのこかどうか? [English and Japanese]

in Fungi Loverslast month (edited)

IMG_6772.jpeg

Are These Reishi Mushrooms Or Not?

There are many stumps in my yard, each adorned with interesting-looking mushrooms. I saw a big Reishi mushroom in the forest a few years ago with my husband. That was very easy to recognize because the colour was standard purplish and mature. However, I'm not sure about the young-looking mushrooms in my yard. They still look young, but I can see the purple parts as well. Maybe I need to be patient to see the colour a little bit more.

IMG_6773.jpeg

There are many holes on the surface of the tree stump. Woodpeckers love this tree. The mushrooms grow on the bottom parts of this tree stump. I hope that I can recognize the mushrooms someday soon. If someone has any ideas, please let me know!

IMG_2655.png
Japanese 日本語

IMG_6772.jpeg

これは霊芝きのこかどうか?

私の庭にはたくさん切り株があるのですが、おもしろいきのこがよく生えているのを見かけます。以前、森の中で主人と一緒に霊芝(レイシ)きのこを見かけました。その霊芝は見本のようにとてもきれいな紫色でわかりやすく、すぐに見分けがつきました。ところが、家の庭のこのきのこはまだ若くて見極めるのが難しいです。成長過程で色合いがわからないのですが、下の方は紫っぽくなっている部分があります。もう少し辛抱強く待つ必要があるのかもしれません。

IMG_6773.jpeg

この切り株にはたくさん穴が空いています。ウッドペッカーがこの切り株が大好きなのでよくやってきます。例のきのこはこの切り株の下の部分に生えています。もう時期何のきのこかが判明するといいのですが…。どなたかわかる方がいたら、ぜひ教えてください!

IMG_2655.png
Thank you for reading!
お読みいただきありがとうございます。

437C6C72-30B8-45D3-AC16-AC3EE1BD43ED.jpeg
https://koto-art.wixsite.com/mysite-1

Sort:  

My guess it is not reishi, but another trimming fungus. Reishi has a glossy, cinnabar-brown varnished surface, and a recognizable elongated “leg” - which I don’t see here.

Thank you for your information! My phone app said 'Fomitopsis pinicola.' I hoped that I could have Reishi in my yard… but they are not. Anyway, it's fun to talk about mushrooms.

Well AI checkes it on google for you and it is recognising it as red belt conk and probably not edible.

Oh, thank you! That is a good idea to use AI apps to recognize it! I checked my phone, and it said 'Fomitopsis pinicola!'

So one of us is wrong or may be both.
Only an expert can tell the truth 😁

I totally agree with you. It's hard for me to recognize mushrooms by myself, even when I check my mushroom books. I only eat the familiar ones in my garden.

Does mushrooms grow in your garden and some of those are evenly edible?
I would recommend you to participate in the fungi Friday community here. They are very friendly and also curate notable shots or work related to fungi.
I always try to find fungi and participate there even though all of them are poisonous 😆.

Thank you! I will check the Friday community for sure! Yes, I see some edible mushrooms in my garden. They are called 'ash tree bolete.' They are pretty tasty.

I am curious as well!

Thank you! They are probably not Reishi mushrooms… My app said 'Fomitopsis pinicola.'