You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mushroom Monday - Colors Gone Wrong

in Fungi Lovers5 months ago

#1 and #3 and #9 definitely have photo-manipulated colour.
oh, and I'd argue that "blue greens" fungi are quite common in nature - comparing to a waste majority of the rest, they occure more rarely. imo.

awesome post, all in all, you deserve some !PIZZA after such a careful and tedious research work! 😇

Sort:  

I should have posted a blue green cup fungi. Crazy colorful and weird looking even its mycelium is blue green.
20200822_133452.jpg

Yes, Chlorociboria aeruginosa aka Elfcups, is a perfect example.
But it is rather an exception to the general rule, right?

Elfcups - Chlorociboria aeruginosa by Christine Young.jpg

I hope I will encounter it one day, as well.

I only found it once hidden under some bark on a dead log. The only other blue mushroom I found was a blue turkeytail. I'm still looking for the indigo lactarius that theoretically might grow in my area. It has amazing blue gills.