Fungi Friday - Eastern Black Trumpets and More

in Fungi Lovers2 years ago (edited)

Happy Fungi Friday to everyone! Today, I would like to share more images of fungi found in the forests of western Michigan, USA, including my most recent edible mushroom haul of Eastern Black Trumpets (Craterellus fallax).

image.png

The last week has been a particularly good week for foraging in my region of the world. Over the course of 4 days, I returned to the same woodland encircling an inland lake to hunt for an forage Eastern Black Trumpets, a gourmet edible species known for their smoky, earthy flavor. On my first day, I was able to find a few dozen of these delectable mushrooms before I ran out of daylight. Bright and early the next day, I returned to the same spot to find enough black trumpets to fill a small Tupperware container along with a few Red Chanterelles (Cantharellus cinnabarinus) found along the way.

IMG-3942.jpg

The following day was met with heavy rains that prevented me from continuing my search, though the following day I returned one last time to be rewarded by a bounty of fresh black trumpets lining the trails of the woods. I had never before seen such a prolific fruiting of these mushrooms, and I am very pleased that my persistence an patience paid off in the long run. I all, I was able to find around 1 lb of fresh black trumpets on that 4th and final day.

I have since made a few dishes with the black trumpets, including a mushroom risotto that combined the black trumpets with rehydrated Hen of the Woods (Grifola frondosa) that I found earlier this same month (https://peakd.com/hive-166168/@tych021/fungi-friday-a-bright-start-to-the-autumn-foraging-season). The combination was earthy and delicious and will certainly be making its way back to my table this winter now that I have purchased a dehydrator to store my edible mushrooms well beyond their growing seasons. If anyone has any other recipes to recommend for this species, please let me know!

Apart from the Eastern Black Trumpets, a few other noteable finds from this last week include an abundance of Honey Mushrooms (Armillaria mellea), another edible species appreciated for its nutty taste, as well as two different species of chanterelles (Genus Cantharellus), and a few more flamboyant, non-edible species like the Violet Coral Fungus (Clavaria zollingeri) and the Old-Man-of-the-Woods (Strobilomyces strobilaceus).

I hope that you enjoy this collection of fungi photography as much as I did hunting for them, and as always, feel free to offer your suggestions if you believe that I have misidentified any of the species shown below.

Happy Fungi Friday!

Eastern Black Trumpet (Craterellus fallax):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Honey Mushroom (Armillaria mellea):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Midwestern Yellow Chanterelle (Cantharellus flavus):

image.png

image.png

Red Chanterelle (Cantharellus cinnabarinus):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Beefsteak Polypore (Fistulina hepatica):

image.png

Violet Coral Fungus (Clavaria zollingeri):

image.png

image.png

Frost's Bolete (Exsudoporus frostii):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

American Abrupt-Bulbed Lepidella (Amanita abrupta):

image.png

Witch's Hat (Hygrocybe conica):

image.png

Birch Polypore (Fomitopsis betulina):

image.png

image.png

Truffleclub (Genus Tolypocladium):

image.png

Shingled Tooth (Sarcodon imbricatus):

image.png

Cornflower Bolete (Gyroporus cyanescens):

image.png

image.png

Two-colored Bolete (Baorangia bicolor):

image.png

Hare's Ear (Otidea onotica):

image.png

Yellow-tipped Coral Fungus (Ramaria formosa):

image.png

Old-Man-of-the-Woods (Strobilomyces strobilaceus):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Bitter Bolete (Tylopilus felleus):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sour Gold-pored Bolete (Aureoboletus auriporus):

image.png

Violet Gray Bolete (Tylopilus plumbeoviolaceus):

image.png

Chicken Fat Mushroom (Suillus americanus):

image.png

Zoned Tooth (Hydnellum concrescens):

image.png

Green Wood Cup (Chlorociboria aeruginascens):

image.png

Clavulinopsis aurantiocinnabarina:

image.png

image.png


My NFT Showroom gallery: https://nftshowroom.com/tych021/gallery

Creary Gallery: https://creary.net/@tych021/projects

Publish0x reflink: https://www.publish0x.com?a=M7e58kDYd2

PeakD reflink: https://peakd.com/register?ref=tych021

NFTShowroom reflink: https://nftshowroom.com/?r=tych021

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tych021

Vimm.tv: https://www.vimm.tv/tych021

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sketch.and.jam.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wow awesome Violet Coral Fungus find. I was there last week but it seemed a bit dry in the areas I was looking and I only found a few things here and there mainly honey mushrooms. What area did you find the violet coral in?

They were along a trial around an inland lake called Pickerel Lake

Wow Very beautiful mushrooms, that's why black trumpets are the most delicious to me, they are nice to see;))

Dear @tych021,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!