The roles we play in life

in Self Improvementlast year

I play several different roles in life. I am a father, husband, son. I am a boss and a work colleague. I am a youth worker/leader. I am a Hive blogger.

I was reading a post by @galenkp where he talked about online social media identities and how many people are so superficial and that they are not authentic.

It got me thinking - am I authentic in the different roles I play?

Authenticity means that actually do thing aligned to how you present yourself to be and that your actions are aligned to your true principles and values.

My values/princiles, are centred around truth, generosity, positivity, integrity, empowering and helping others.

This is how I conduct myself at work and how I believe as a boss of a large team at work, I gain their respect. They know I am honest. I trust them too and empower them to do their jobs. I am hopefully authentic, as I don't just talk the talk - I walk the walk.

The way I behave though is slightly different at work to some of the other roles I play in life.

At work, when I say something as the boss, it has an impact. Especially on the more junior staff. I have to be careful what I say.

When I speak to the team, they expect me to be positive and inspiring. They want a visionary message that will help them to understand where we are headed and why they are valued. When I speak to the team - I have to put my game face on.

This doesn't mean I am not authentic as I always act according to my underlying values but perhaps I can't fully relax and be myself?

In my role as a youth leader, I can relax and muck around more than I do at work. I actually find its nice, none of them really know what I do for work so its a refreshing break. I have to be guarded in other ways though. They are after all youth and they expect something from me as a role model.

At home, I do muck around with my kids. They see me as a bit of a joker and perhaps its because I can let my hair down at home in a way I can't when I am playing the different roles I play outside the house.

Its fine to play different roles in life - we all do. We will also have different visions for those roles. For example, my vision for myself as the good leader at work is different as the vision for myself with the role I play as a father for my kids.

However, in all my roles, I act them with the same underlying values and principles. These are deep routed parts of me that me who I am. I am not pretending to be someone else. People just see different views of the underlying me.

I do think that on Hive, I can relax a lot an be myself. I don't really mind what people think of my thoughts and beliefs. I am free to express myself how I want. That's a great place to be.


Image source: Pexels

Sort:  

Hi @awah,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

All sounds perfectly normal to me my friend, it would be strange if we was completely the same in every situation that to me would be unauthentic, not to mention a little sad.

With our children we can be a bit childish and silly in a way that an adult friend may not appreciate if you treated them the same 🤣 may be funny though. Obviously this would be the same if you took the same energy into work it would all start to become problematic in certain situations.

Playing different roles is just life in general and people that say they are the same in all aspects are not being authentic and maybe inappropriate 🤣

Great post @awah have an amazing weekend

Made in Canva
!ALIVE

- @benthomaswwd - Moderator


This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

Thanks for our comment. I just find it interesting as perhaps my colleagues at work would see me very different if they new me out of work. I think everyone is like that. We do therefore all to a certain extent put a game face on depending on which situation we are in.

!ALIVE
!wine
!BBH

@aliveandthriving! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @awah. (2/5)


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @aliveandthriving.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.150


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@aliveandthriving! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @awah. (2/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I play the role of @tydynrain on Hive, and boy does it keep me busy! 😉😁🙏💚✨🤙



Made in Canva

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

@awah! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (25/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @awah.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I'm not sure I agree that presenting/using different parts of ourselves in different situations is really "playing a role," but I do understand what you mean. The important thing, as you say, is to be true to one's self, regardless of the situation.

"Playing a role" can have a benefit though - it can change habits and moods. Say you wake up every morning and sigh because life is boring and tedious. If you tell yourself "Today something good will happen!" and try to believe it, you'll present a positive face to the world and others will be positive towards you - which is what makes good things happen!

It feels like playing a role sometimes a work. As I feel I need to put a game face on which you could say is therefore a pretence. As such, our behaviours change a bit in different situations. I do agree on always trying to be positive and I do always put a positive face on.

!ALIVE
!wine
!BBH

@treefrognada! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @awah. (3/5)


Congratulations, @awah You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @treefrognada.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/4 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.150


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@treefrognada! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @awah. (3/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

This is inspiring

Thank you !ALIVE

@lightink3! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @awah. (4/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Excellent post @awah! We definitely all do play different and quite diverse roles for sure. To me authenticity, openness, honesty, transparency, are all very important, so how I live and express myself is very 'in the open', so to speak. Different people see different (authentic) sides of us. I like that...😁🙏💚✨🤙

!ALIVE
!LUV

@awah! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @caelum1infernum. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.