You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On the First Monday Night of June

repeating unhealthy cycles just because exploration of the unfamiliar sounds more terrifying than breaking the toxic routines.

How comfortable those toxic routines can be! I think the awareness that they are toxic and a routine is already a step toward breaking free; it gives us the opportunity to begin to choose the new (though doing so might be hard, I know). Thank you for sharing your journey reaching for the light. We've talked in the past about positivity and writing. It has been awhile since I read one of your posts; I feel like you have moved forward. I hope to offer that perspective as encouragement; certainly I am encouraged to see a fellow poet and writer doing this work.

Sort:  

It is a bitter pill to swallow but yes... The awareness is there and so is the realisation that this is the first step to breaking free but there is also the step of sitting with that negative vibe even if I kept it to myself and I am proud to say I did that too.

Thank you for your thoughts :)