Evaluating my training goals (and signing up to compete in a Marathon)

image.png
image source

In Yesterdays Running post I mentioned, that I was going for a run today... and that didn't happen. I wasn't really feeling it. I went for a walk up to the shops with a friend first thing (she had a parcel to post, I had food to buy). When I returned home at 10am I had aimed to go straight back out...

...and I didn't.

Like I already said... I wasn't feeling it. I sat on the couch, and checked Hive (and a bit of strava and FB), and before I knew it, it was 1pm. A spot of lunch and a shower and then I went to spend the rest of the afternoon with my parents. Just like that the day has gone.

Feels like the day was wasted...

So frustrating.

I talk about being consistent, and training regularly. But the truth of the matter is all it takes a couple of missed sessions, a couple of easy excuses, and all that consistent effort can unravel so quickly.

I log all my runs on Strava, as it is a useful way to keep track of my training. My training is intermittent at best, with brief periods of consistency. The current period of training is actually my most continuous bit of training I have managed in the last 10 years:

image.png

You can see in the graph, I started back in June 2022 and steadily increased the mileage up to approx 50km per week as of January 2023. I'm really enjoying the process, and I'm starting to see an improvement in health, aerobic fitness and general well being. Regular exercise is just one of the ways to improve our mental health.

I really need to keep this going

By the way, i'm not talking about not taking a rest day. sometimes we can overdo it, or get tired or life gets in the way, so we have to skip a session. Thee is nothing wrong with having a valid reason for a day off

One way of motivating myself to train regularly is to find a goal to aim for. In this case it's gonna be a running event (i don't refer to these as races, as I'm a long way from winning any of these!). I have already signed up to do a Half Marathon in Lincoln.

image.png
image source

But, that's in September... its ages away. Plus it is a distance I have completed regularly so its not as if I have to train particularly hard for. A goal needs to be reasonably challenging to be worth tying to complete. I will be aiming to do it in a quick(er) time than before, but that in itself is not going to sustain me for the next 6 months

I need something sooner... something a bit more interesting... and as luck would have it, I found it - The Great British Seaside Marathon (event page)

image.png
image source

Its a new event taking place along the Lincolnshire coast, from Skegness up to Mablethorpe and back down again. Technically it is 27.3 miles as opposed to the standard 26.2 miles due to how its been set up. There is also an Ultra Marathon taking place at the same time over 35 miles but I'll give that a miss this time around... 27 miles in the bracing sea air will be challenge enough!

It is slightly sooner than I would like, at just over 5 weeks away... but all the more reason to get my lazy butt in gear and crack on!

The first step I guess is to check the required kit list

image.png

Hat and gloves - check (it is early Spring in the UK, it will be pretty chilly!)
Jacket - ditto!
Minimum of 500 ml water to be carried - check,1 litre Camelbak
Headtorch/Torch - check (although as we are starting at 8AM, I expect to finish before nightfall!)
Whistle - er nope - I guess as it is a small event, there will be a few marshalls spread over the whole course, it will be useful to have a way of calling for assistance if required
Emergency food supply - will almost certainly be Jelly Babies
Phone stuff and maps etc - to sort out nearer the time of the event.

ok... Whistle ordered

I guess the next step is to plan my training. As it is only a few weeks away I need to make sure I can squeeze in a small taper in the last 2 weeks so I am physically rested for the main event.

I want to get to the start line as well prepared and ready as I can

On that note, I'd better go and start planning, so watch this space!

hive signiture doze logo.png

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Sounds like a great challenge to motivate your fitness. Good luck!

Thank you, I hope so too!

I'm a fan of helpful pressure deadlines to keep my own goals on track. I did a monthlong walking challenge last year. On days I did not want to walk out the door, it was only the fact I had publicly announced I was doing this daily walk challenge that held me accountable to my goal. It's too easy to not be accountable to myself on days when the mind and body are rebelling.

thats the word i was looking for!... it helps me be accountable when I have 'off' days

I did the same thing a couple of years back for a very different reason, I decided it was time to go sober (as I was beginning to lose control). I tried quitting 4 times in quick succession, and the 5th attempt I made a huge post and made it public on FB. I explained what the situation was and why I was quitting.

And once I made it public, there was literally no where to hide. I received over 40 messages of support, and I knew that there was no way I could let those people down, and that was that. That was 4 years ago, and I've not touched it since :-)

It's amazing how strong accountability is when it is to others and not just ourselves.

untitled.gif

Hey, congrats on signing up for that marathon! It looks beautiful. I would join you if it wasn't so far away. Not a runner as much but I would happily jog a UK coastline all day long. Next time. I'll bring Pilot.

Don't worry too much about falling out of routine in winter. Our bodies naturally don't want to do sh*t during this time. Wired this way because our instincts tell us food is scarce. I think you're doing great!

Next time. I'll bring Pilot.

I'd love a little running buddy. And you'd welcome to join us of course 😁. One of the reasons I run is to enjoy the scenary, so to run next to the sea, hearing the waves crash against the shore will be flippin' lovely.

getting sand in my shoes may not be quite as exciting!

I think you're doing great!

Thank you Anna 🖤. I just know what I'm like, and if I take a week off from being consistent, I will end up losing all momentum and the whole thig will fall apart (...again). Gotta keep on it!

How is your skating going?

Yeah, I get that about momentum. My gym momentum is falling a little off-track but I try to stay active. It looks like you're still moving, even when you're not running, so that's momentum! Just a little slower.

Skating is going great! I'm learning freestyle hockey skating, slow and steady at 42. Just got a membership at the local rink so I can skate all the public sessions. Gonna head over there today before going to a face-stuffing contest at my friends' place.

Skating is going great! I'm learning freestyle hockey skating

Pleased to hear it :-)

That looks pretty awesome to be fair! A more 'modern' version of Ice Skating with breakdancing, random handstands and no silly sequined dresses

Is it to help with getting ready for Ice Hockey? Or are you learning this for it's own sake?

Just learning for its own sake. Fun way to be in my body and build self-trust, plus be on the ice, which I love. But it's also helpful to be light on your feet for hockey. Hockey is so bloody expensive it makes me use British expressions to talk about how expensive it is. I thought maybe by fall I could join a league but now I don't know. There's always pickup hockey, though.

I get that. Something to enjoy, that's reasonably accessible, plus more time on the ice can only be a good thing for the ice hockey stuff when that happens. And it will happen... and if not this year then maybe next (at least that'll give you time to save up for the bloody expensive equipment!)

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Oooooooh. Well that's interesting!

I shall watch along with curiosity 😉

!LUV (have I got any left today ??) !LOL

It is interesting and exciting (something that's been on my 'to-do' list for years!)

There will be updates to watch out for (although it will mostly be managing the current distances and making sure I can time the taper to be in the best position I can be on the start line).

I would love to do it in 4 hours, (but I know I'm not there yet, so the aim is just to complete it relatively comfortably). I reckon for approx 4 and a half hours, but I'll see how I go.

Looks like you had plenty of !LUV to give!

(I know it refreshes every 24 hours, but I have no idea on the cut of times for it?)

I don't know the cut off time either!

So I just guess. !LUV

BTW, have you done a marathon before? I had only guessed that you had...?

!ALIVE

@dannewton! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @consciouscat. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

nope... the 20 miles from the other weekend was the furthest I've ran :-)

Hence no real expectation over time over than looking at my average half marathon time (approx. 2 hours 10min) and doubling it, plus a bit extra for luck!

You've mentioned before that you've done a few?

the 20 miles from the other weekend was the furthest I've ran :-)

Well that's worth celebrating; a new longest distance for you! Yay!

Hence no real expectation over time over than looking at my average half marathon time (approx. 2 hours 10min) and doubling it, plus a bit extra for luck!

Sounds completely reasonable and sensible. My rule for myself for a very long time has been this:

New distance = no time goal, just finish in one piece with a smile on my face.

You've mentioned before that you've done a few?

More ultras than actual race marathons. I'm not sure I've ever written about it on Hive, so I think you've just given me another post idea ;)

!LOL !LUV !ALIVE

@dannewton! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @consciouscat. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What did the judge say when the skunk walked into the courtroom?
“Odor in the court!”

Credit: reddit
@dannewton, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(2/8)

just finish in one piece with a smile on my face

Precisely my aim for this one!

I think you've just given me another post idea

Ha! Your welcome ;-)
you've dropped teasing little hints about the runs (er... 'races') that you've completed, but I don't know much more than that

!LUV

!LOL

Runs, races, ridiculous-events-where-we-put-one-foot-in-front-of-the-other-until-complete.
Same, same to me ;)

That's a great incentive. From the runs you have been doing I think you'll be fine. I've not heard of races that have so many equipment requirements. I would hope nobody gets lost.

Sometimes I do not feel like running. I has become a habit though, so I usually do it anyway. Have to think about why we do it. It ought to be fun and not just about maintaining stats. I know some people do long daily running streaks, but I don't need that extra pressure.

Have fun.

!PIZZA

I've not heard of races that have so many equipment requirements.

I was surprised by it lol, and i'm not sure how strict they will be. If I turned up on the start line missing a pair of gloves, would they send me home? I'm not loosing the £50 I paid for the event!

I think its likely due to the large size of the event (either 27 miles or an ultra for 35miles) and a limit of just 400 runners. lots of people spread out and we won't be surrouned by marshalls, so I guess we need to be able to 'look after ourselves' etc.

I don't get those people with running streaks. There is a difference between consistency and obsession!

!PIZZA

The half that I do is sort of self-guided with just marshals on road crossings and they don't have any special requirements. I think organisers need to cover themselves though.

!BEER


Hey @dannewton, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
steevc tipped dannewton (x1)
@dannewton(2/5) tipped @steevc (x1)

Join us in Discord!