You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think like a Viking: Part sixty

in Self Improvement2 years ago

We all die, for sure, but, I would be a liar if I said I didn't care what people think of me. But, to be more specific, my people. My family, my closest friends, and even people that I hold in high respect. To me, that matters. I don't like anything left unsaid between us, anything unresolved in differences. We can have differences, but, I like to address them. It is important for me to feel like I have done what I can to make it right. Unless of course, it is just plain wrong. :)

If anyone has assets, it would be foolish to not have your demise taken care of. In case people aren't aware, that doesn't stop it from coming. Having had to settle some estates, I can say that it can be pretty time-consuming to file someone else's paperwork and decide where their assets should go and to whom. I worked hard for what I have, and it has been such fun, but having had to plan a funeral or three, I don't want to leave that to anyone. Where I am buried, which chapel will hold the service... that is so helpful. Done. It is the least I can do for my kids.

I don't understand people leaving behind unfinished business, of course, having buried a few very close people, a couple very unexpected, you tend to look at life a little differently. I love life and live each day to the fullest. That doesn't mean I do amazing things, although sometimes I get to. :) It just means that I try to be happy with what I have done, embrace in my soul those close to me, and never forget to show my love, my gratitude, and my heart.

I hope you have a wonderful night.

Sort:  

I agree with you in that we need to care what people think of us, but the important aspect is who, and why, and how much. Some don't matter and others do, and determining one from the other is important. I made a comment to someone else in this post who talked about, living exactly as they liked, unapologetically, and I pointed out that that isn't always a good thing, and gave examples of people who have done so; Adolf Hitler was one such example.

I believe that through not acknowledging that ones life will come to an end can inhibit the value a person finds in it. Like leaving unfinished business for instance, putting off what could be done today for some otter day, the kind words, that holiday, the self-care and so on.

I know you're not that way inclined and that you've found much of what you've looked for in your life as most people who take the time to search will. It's a simple equation.

Exactly.

Hitler is a great example and one I wouldn't have thought of. Unfinished business is not uncommon but it should be.

All of these things should be taught to your kids when growing up and then it wouldn't be such a struggle to do it when they are older. I understand circumstances prevent it, especially nowadays with people having children they aren't even raising. It isn't the schools' responsibility to do these things, but, that is another whole post.

especially nowadays with people having children they aren't even raising. It isn't the schools' responsibility to do these things, but, that is another whole post.

I'm not a parent so try not to comment much on things like this, but it's really a pretty serious issue. Also, I see (perceive) that many parents just aren't equipped to do the child-raising as they were raised incorrectly themselves...I don't think schools are the right place for this raising scenario either; agendas and all.

I was just having this exact discussion about a week ago. We are two generations deep with unskilled parenting. How sad is that? It's more of a problem than people realize.

Yeah, I think humans have got very good at denial and avoidance. Sad indeed, because this particular scenario is spiralling out if control and won't end in a good place.