You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shut up or I'll weld your mouth shut

in Self Improvement2 years ago

I've been in jobs where I was put into positions of leadership from a reasonably young age, and in which getting it right really mattered. I was trained, sought my own further training and developed my skills to be better at what I did, a more complete leader. Later, in other jobs, I used those skills in business and with clients and, of course, worked to develop and deepen them even further.

I've worked hard to understand people, including myself, and to have the ability to see them, and their situations, with more clarity. Add in a few other skills and that leaves me able to better deal with people, lead them and help them gain some of the skills I have. It makes me a better manager and in my own life a much better individual. Mostly.

Sort:  

Thank you for your thorough answer. It's great that you've had the experience of leadership, and I think you might have always known the crucial differences between a true leader and a 'boss' figure. That's commendable!

I credit my father for helping to build the right foundation for me to build myself upon. He was a good man: Generous, kind, thoughtful, respetful, courteous and more. I'm not exactly like him, but my core values are based on his examples.

I learned, very early in life, that I have the ability to design and create myself the way I'd like to be and that's what I largely do. I've made mistakes (learned from them), had terrible experiences (learned from them) and have managed to find it in myself to rise (after falling) and take another step. I'm not the, stay down sort of fellow. It's this, and a million other things, that helps me be a better man and leader.

Thanks for your comment.