Sort:  

Thank god you talked about that!!
I've been doing this so recently that I forgot to mention.
Along side with my "to-do" list I also have a "distraction list".
I used to stop whatever I was doing to look up something that just came to light and spent hours on it without getting anything from it.
So now, whenever does "super interesting" thing pop in my mind, I write them on my distraction list, this way at the end of my "obligations" I'll look through it to measure their importance (spoiler alert: most of the times for me, it was really just my brain trying to get me out of work) ahaha
You should try it too!! :D

This seems like a good idea,
I would try it as soon as possible because I hardly get things done due to distractions.

I get you! Something pops in my mind and I always loose hours on it thinking it will be the next greatest thing since the invention of sliced bread and most of the times was just a distraction