One Day or Day One: A Matter of Choice

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

I came across a wonderful thought from Paulo Coelho: "One day or day one. You decide."

pexels_ricardo_esquivel_3041347_1_

Image Source

We all wanted to have a better future. A future where we all could live in peace and harmony. A future that could give us happiness. And a future where we could bloom wonderfully.

With that in mind, we plotted a lot of goals that we want to achieve. These goals will enable us to walk on the path that we always wanted to be on. Not to mention, no matter how clear or how blurry our goals are, in the end, we wanted to achieve them with flying colors. We wanted to reach the peak where we could say that we finally made it.

The quote that says, "One day or day one. You decide" is indeed relatable. It could make us reflect on our choices in life. It could help us tweak the actions and decisions that we already have towards our goals. Just so you know we are the authors of our books and we are the ones to decide what path will we take.

"One day", we tend to say this phrase a lot.

"One day, I will start with my goals".

"One day, I will do it."

"One day, I'll work for it."

pexels_tobias_bj_rkli_2690807

Image Source

We have a lot of "one day" in our lives. One day means we are delaying the goals we have crafted, and there are a lot of factors for that. It's either we have no time to start it now, or we're just too afraid. We can't deny the fact as well that we keep on thinking about our goals and we hope that they will come to reality in no time.

However, achieving the goals we have in mind is not just about imagining them to happen, or waiting for them to finally happen in our lives. We need to work for them and make baby steps towards achieving them. Achieving a goal needs effort. Because if we just keep on hoping that those goals will happen one day or we will continue to delay doing them, when will we see results? When will we see our progress?

Sometimes, we delay doing our goals because we are afraid of failure. We are afraid that as we journey toward them, we will experience a lot of struggles. Little did we know that that's normal for us to go through. Failures are normal as well. Although they may sound negative, failures will help us a lot to grow. Failures are good things if we accept them in the right way.

Sometimes, if we delay doing our goals, we will end up regretting it in the end as it's already too late to do it. I also remember the quote that I came across before:

"Six months from now, you will wish you started today."

pexels_oziel_g_mez_1755385

Image Source

I could still remember before, I had a lot of goals in mind, but I'm too afraid to do it as something inside me was stopping me. I wanted to do them as early as it is, but I'm afraid of failure, I'm afraid that I can't make it. I'm afraid that I might not reach the end. Aside from that, I also doubt my potential. With that, I end up with regrets for delaying and just keep on saying "one day." After that, I learned to be firm with my goals in life, and instead of saying "one day", what I did was to have " day one" and it changed everything.

It's such a fulfillment to start the goal with no excuses. To accept whatever will happen and learn from the lessons that come from it. Sure thing we have a lot of goals, but if we allow our doubts to dominate our minds, we will surely end up with regrets. Not to mention, if we want to do something, we will do it no matter how hard it is. We stop making excuses and focus on achieving the goal we started.

You see, it's a matter of choice. It's either we say "one day" and delay our goals, or we say "day one" and start working on the goals we have in mind. Needless to say, we should work for our goals now. Why not do it tomorrow or the next day if we can do it now, right? Work for your goals now and surely your future self will be thankful for you.


Disclaimer: The views expressed are personal and solely belong to me. This article is original content by me that has been posted on read.cash as well.

Read Article

20220514_100314_0000

Sort:  

I want to be successful too, ate.

I believe that you will be successful soon dear nani. You have so much potential. Just continue doing and molding yourself to the things that you love to do.

Thank you, ate.

Congratulations @leticiafelize! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Interesting post 👍
Many of us are afraid to try something and that is what is stopping us from taking a step and it looks as if we keep postponing the day and before we know it, it is too late. We need to confront fear first and then, we can have freedom to explore and try new things.

Indeed my friend princess. Feel the fear, but do it anyway. Let's have the courage to face every opportunity and embrace the ups and downs of that journey. If we would just step back, regrets do follow.

Dami kung goals sa buhay pero di ko lahat na achieved.

This is an interesting take and I like how clear you are in stating the obvious. Right from when I was in Uni, one of the things I usually say to myself is, "My One day is today!"

It has to be today. Just start! As far as you have started, you will always learn from the journey until you get to your destination.

Those that usually say 'One day' will end up sinking deeper into procrastination. Let's chase our goals without deal ✌️

Thanks for sharing this on DreemPort. !PIZZA

Awee, wonderful input you have there my friend and I agree with you on that. Sometimes, the more we delay what we wanted to do, the more we get demotivated to do them as well. So do it now and just see how it progress. Our day one should be now.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@kenechukwu97(1/5) tipped @leticiafelize (x1)

Join us in Discord!

I love Paulo Coelho's quote too! One day is set off into the future, but Day One is a commitment to start. Every goal you work towards will bring you, not only closer to achieving it, but also growth and learning.

Because you seem to like quotes, this is another one that speaks to me, from Thomas Edison:

I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work. Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.

So, after Day One comes day Day Two and it keeps going on until you reach your goal.

I was brought to your post through DreemPort.

dreemport_gif1

Awee, I agree to the thoughts that you shared my friend Julia. As we continue to walk our journey in life, we are actually not the same person as wel are before. We continue to bump meaningful lessons along the way that will help us to grow. And the quote that you shared is truly inspiring as well. I get to reflect on my experiences in life and the soon to be paths that I'm going to embark. Anyway, thanks for visiting my post and thanks to dreemport as well.

Although to beat that one-day thought is impossible but yet the perks of a bright future can become the motivation.

Today I defeated my laziness by saying it's on day one (honestly it was hectic to manage the kitchen, gym, online work and studies at the same time with single hands 🥺🥴 but I did this 😍☝🤭)

Hehe, these motivational words made my day dear. Thanks to Dreemport for dropping me here.

Aweee, it's so heartwarming to see you again here my friend ayesha. I agree, with a lot of things going on with our life, sometimes all we can do is to try to iron things out or else we will end up having a mess up schedule. Congrats that you did everything in the end. And thanks for passing by here.

Hehe I have to say this
"Your words penetrate the heart of the reader immediately".
Have you tried inspiring others, if not I guess you will be able to do it without any extra effort🌺
Lots of love sis .

sam.jpg
Upvoted on behalf of the VYB Curation Project

Oh, I love this!

Paulo Coelho: "One day or day one. You decide."

that is the thing to do! no matter the task, stat living for today!!! We cannot remain conflicted about our yesterdays or fearful of our tomorrows. We have today to make a difference. !LUV !ALIVE

@leticiafelize! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@leticiafelize, @samsmith1971(3/5) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ Starting June 16, LUV will allow 3 or fewer "!" commands in a reply. Details.

Aweee, indeed my friend Sam. May we focus ourselves on the present. The past can't be undone anymore, the present is also affected by our present decisions. Anyway, thanks for passing by my friend Sam.

You are very welcome, I enjoyed this!

This post left me with a lot of guilty feeling. I am so guilty of 'one day". I keep procrastinating and I never get to do these things. Just like you said, months later I wish I did them. Instead of saying one day I guess my new phrase should be day one. This is very inspiring. Thanks for sharing.

Fret not my friend, some things are meant to happen and madr us regret in our lives for us to learn something. Just like now. It's never too late to do the things we wanted to do. Let's have today our day 1 then.

Today is definitely day one to many wonderful beginnings. Thank you so much.