You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think like a Viking: Part sixty

We all die, there is absolutely no denying the fact; but do we all truly live?

In the span of a year, I lost my uncle to a violent crime, one friend to illness, and another to a freak accident. The fact that these two friends, one around my age, and the other, who had the accident, was far younger than I, thoughts of mortality were with me a lot. It is not that I fear death. I have no fear of that journey regardless of what may lay beyond if anything.

It made me think about my own life. What have I done with the time that has been given to me? Am I doing all I can? Being all I can? Living in a way that I am satisfied with who I am and what I have done? When I depart the mortal plane, will I have left it a better place for those around me?

People often don't think about the limited time they have here. It can be depressing if you have the wrong view. The questions I started asking, were hard. Ten years ago, I had pictured myself in a much different place than where I am now, at least career-wise. I've also had to work on breaking down my misconceptions about a successful life. The truth is, I don't need all that much money to be happy. Sure, money is a useful tool, but it does not equal happiness. I am far richer than most in terms of the wonderful relationships and bonds that I have formed, and the memories I have made!

Sort:  

Your last paragraph is so true and it would do people well to understand it for themselves and their own lives. Of course, many will never even have these thoughts and, sadly, money and things, are often deemed as markers because of it. The enlightened ones know that money is important and probably quite necessary...and also understand that happiness isn't reliant upon it.

A lot of the time it's those who have dealt with death who understand the value of life a little more keenly.