From Trauma to Transformation

in Self Improvement3 years ago (edited)

I've been contemplating change, healing, and trauma and growth. I've been contemplating how action is borne of belief, and our state is both affected by what we do, how we do it and the things we believe about ourselves.
A simple example of this was my relationship to dishes and taking care of the kitchen. I had ptsd from the way i grew up with this, and felt a lot of stress and anxiety when it came to doing the dishes and caring for the kitchen, taking the garbage out, the recycling.
This became an issue living with people as they saw me not doing my share of the upkeep and felt unhappy about it- justifiably so. We had a house meeting about it and I broke down, sharing my source of anxiety, of stress, what I carried when i did the dishes. Most of my roommates were really gracious, understanding, compassionate. One in particular, asked if there was anything they could do to help. I thought about it and asked that he just sit with me in the kitchen and talk with me while i did dishes/clean. He did. And after just a few times doing this (and having an ex I lived with for years who loved cleaning the house) I felt the anxiety gone. He affirmed for me appreciation that even though I didn't clean every surface, do every dish, or make it surgery room clean, he was grateful for what I did do.
When we see behaviours in our friends, our families, ourselves, coworkers, that harm, if we start with compassion and curiosity, we just might find the wounds of experience, of toxic beliefs that need to be acknowledged and released to make room for a present understanding and health.
Peoples actions change as a result of their healing and their beliefs changing. or at least effortless, lasting change is a result of these things.
deep thoughts for the day

butterfly-1518060_640.jpg

Image by Kei Rothblack from Pixabay

Sort:  

Oh, this post touched me 🙏 My son is autistic and struggles with Demand Avoidance too. The more demands heaped on him the more overwhelmed he becomes and sometimes just one demand will do that depending on where his head is at. I also find that doing things alongside him, chatting, making it fun, and keeping it to brief spurts works wonders for him. I'd love to see more posts from you. this was raw, honest, refreshing. thank you for sharing @rahkingnikhar. Following and hoping you'll pick this message up and find a way to start posting again. We need people like you on the blockchain, sharing when the moment is right for them.🙏🌈❣️

Hey Sam, aw, I'm glad to hear this connected for you. I am on here today as I'm contemplating the forum for more art/self shares. I will be posting here again, perhaps not today but soon. In the mean time, I wish you two deep love and fun and pleasure of being together. He's lucky to have a parent who can understand him! Thank you for sharing <3

oh yay...you are around still ❣️ That's so great. And thank you for that beautiful message. Things are fluid but we manage the waves together. I hope you are well. Yeah, we have VYB community now to compliment POB and with the new POBio front end there is NFT functionality too. But one place I think you will love is Dreemport. Have you heard of it? I came across it about 5 months ago. It is such a wonderful community with a discord too. It is run by the amazing @dreemsteem and is a project and platform to get more eyes on your content across platforms. I'll drop the links here if you want to take a look in your own time. I just think reading your post that you'll like it and find a nice additional home there ...they are a great bunch of very caring people. How do I use Dreemport Some poignant stuff in this post❣️ Please tag me when you start posting again as I don't always get a chance to get to my feed. Have a lovely day @rahkingnikhar 💗

Congratulations @rahkingnikhar! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!