Recognize And Accept That You Are More Than Just One Shattered Part Of You

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

It's simple to believe that everything—all of you—has been broken when things are hard and some part of you is chipped or damaged. However, that is untrue.


source

We all have an image of ourselves in our heads and a concept of the type of person we are. We frequently respond defensively and impulsively when this idea is even slightly hurt or endangered. People may criticise our work, which affects our belief that we are competent individuals, and this causes us to feel wounded or furious. When someone wrongly accuses us of something, it undermines our belief that we are decent people. As a result, we may become enraged and attack the other person, or we may become afraid and sob. The list is just endless.

The most absurd thing is that we frequently damage and threaten ourselves with negativity and unfounded charges.


source

Just this morning, I was finding it difficult to get motivated to start a new creative project I've been putting off, and as a result, my self-perception as someone who is consistently motivated and productive and has brilliant ideas came under attack. I became incredibly self-conscious and frustrated when I realised I wasn't accomplishing anything because I started worried subconciously that I wasn't who I thought I was. I was guilty of laziness.

Realizing that I'm not simply one thing was my answer. I'm not always productive; there are times when I'm both productive and unproductive. I don't always have motivation; occasionally I do, but all other times I'm a little lazy. Of course, I don't always come up with brilliant ideas; that's not feasible.


source

The fact that I may be many different things allows me to expand my identity and make it less brittle so that it won't completely break if a small bit of it gets cracked. Because I don't always do a good job, it doesn't matter whether occasionally someone thinks I didn't do a good job or if I catch myself occasionally doing a bad job.

I am fallible.

I am not entirely flawless.

similar to YOU.

And that's totally fine.

Animated GIF made by me @rocsksg

Hire me at Fiverr for any graphics or animations like this.

Sort:  

me too, everymorning there are times also where I find it difficult to start a new day and all I just want is to lay down and not to think about everything. but what else we can do? still we need to forcely feed ourselves of positivity to finish this day

Some days are not meant to do anything and that is normal.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @rocksg.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more