You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You be basic

in Self Improvement4 years ago

I can usually rewire my brain pretty quickly but apparently only parts of it can be rewired as despite my best efforts I can't seem to get it to accept video tutorials the first time like I can do with text, and "everyone" does video tutorials for Blender these days as apparently it's easier to just screencast your nonsense than screenshot and write pages about it XD

There's no real need to pirate anything these days when there's FOSS/FLOSS stuff that's somewhat equivalent in most cases though some people still have the outdated stigma that the free stuff is worse because it's free. I had this huge argument about Photoshop vs GIMP with my sibling which I didn't really have much of a chance in as I never used either beyond the basics for photo editing XD I find Krita much, much better than either for digital painting but in fairness I don't have a recent version of Photoshop to compare to and I've been putting my kids onto freeware stuff, though I suspect my middle child may have some cracked software because all the editing tutorials she watches uses Adobe crap and she doesn't know how to translate that over to what she has.

can't do the job without experience, can't get experience as there are no jobs to do.

Seems like a natural expansion of the other long running problem of everyone wants someone experienced to do the job but no one will give anyone a chance to get any experience.

Skipping these basic activities is to discount the skills that are developed by completing them as unnecessary, often by people who have already developed them as they grew up in a time where automation wasn't possible, or encouraged

A startling number of people aren't self aware enough to figure out how they developed the skills they have or got to where they are today so probably have no idea that they're undermining their kids/next generation/whatever.

And then the kids who have no way to know any better can't see the point of knowing how to do long division when short division is quicker and easier or why you'd even bother with that when everyone has a calculator in their pocket. I see it in my kids and their schooled friends who disregard some lessons they consider irrelevant because the most obvious thought of "what if you don't have [this thing that currently does it]" seems impossible.

Sort:  

I am not great with video tutorials either - they move too fast for me :D

I have used Krita a little, but it isn't the same use case perhaps. I also wonder when it comes to the free stuff, where is the monetization coming from, as there must be, right?

Seems like a natural expansion of the other long running problem of everyone wants someone experienced to do the job but no one will give anyone a chance to get any experience.

Yep. When I mentioned it to my client they went a bit quiet. It is kind of like they expect other manufacturers to train the people they steal :D

so probably have no idea that they're undermining their kids/next generation/whatever.

This is what I assume.

I see it in my kids and their schooled friends who disregard some lessons they consider irrelevant because the most obvious thought of "what if you don't have [this thing that currently does it]" seems impossible.

I think that this happens often now - when the internet is unavailable for some reason. We see how reliant we are for most of our lives and then sit around with "nothing to do" - soon, we really will have nothing to do.

What's your use case? It was designed for painting in which is what I do, and you can animate in it now as well but I haven't been game enough to try to figure that one out, it's been A Very Long TimeTM since I did 2d anim and I find it harder than 3d XD

It is kind of like they expect other manufacturers to train the people they steal :D

LoL! That is EXACTLY how it works XD

when the internet is unavailable for some reason

J and I usually joke about going into withdrawals on Christmas Island as they still use archaic quota systems over there so we have to really restrict internet usage XD

I feel sorry for people who can't find something to do, I always have something to do :D

a lot of the time it's stuff I don't want to do but you know adulting

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.