You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Someone You Love Doesn't Want To Help Themselves

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

My stepfather was an alcoholic who believed in abusing my favourite girl and was a part showing his love for her. It made me dislike drinking irresponsibly from such a young age.

One of my closest kin struggles with alcohol intake too. Like you, I have tried everything. The speaking. The abandoning ship. The get help approach. But still, nothing is working.

The irritating bit with my end is that a few years back, she had everything going for her. Then she got herself in a relationship with a dehumanising idiot and down the hill, she went.

Please know that you are not alone and that this is always their decision to act on. You have done your part 💚

Sort:  

It is really hard to stand by the sideline and try so hard and see loved ones get hurt. I rather try not to think about it and I rather try not to understand.
Is it bad to not wanna understand peoples pain? Nobody wants to be an alcoholic..

My father is a good man and did many good things in life
But that man is slowly rotting away now.

I agree with it is really hard to stand by the sidelines but I also know that for there to be authentic change, the will needs to born in the person abusing alcohol or any other drug too.

Isn't sad that life can be so unkind to some minds that peace seems like it can only be found deep in a beer bottle?

Yeah it is.. I really wish those people could somehow heal themselves

Thank you my friend. I am so sorry to hear how alcohol has impacted your life. That is really full on. I can understand why you dislike those who drink irresponsibly.
It really does have such a horrible effect on some people. Sending you love xxxx