Why Self-Talk Matters: A blog about the power of positive self-talk.

In times wherein there are a lot of voices that we can hear. Voices from parents, friends, influencers, etc. we find it hard to determine who’s better to listen to.

Have you tried talking to yourself? I did, and always do, especially when I am in a tight pinch. I just earlier when I am searching for a transaction that got buried in the archives. I am losing my mind as I am doing the reconciliation for almost a month.

Blue Minimalist News Twitter Post.png

You might ask what is self-talk then?

From the scenario that I gave, it looks like I was just rumbling in front of my computer, but there’s a lot going on in the background.

Let’s start with a simple definition, and that is simply talking to yourself! It can be spoken or even via thoughts that keep running through our heads. More often than not, our self-talk impact how we feel and behave.

I told myself that I will not give up and will accomplish the task today so it did finally take me almost 5 hours to review every transaction but it is fulfilling after.

To further understand the power of self-talk let’s use other scenarios:

  • Self-talk can influence your behavior. If you tell yourself that you don’t want to exercise and you find it hard to give time doing such activities, then this will affect the effort that you will be giving. Bakit pa mag-eexcercise kung kakain din naman ng madami pagkatapos?

  • Self-talk can change your thoughts about an event - Monday will be the best example that I can think of. Bakit ka sad kasi may pasok na?

Positive self-talk can make you more efficient.

When focused on a certain task and reminding ourselves to complete it, it is easier to stay focused. We will not be going elsewhere. Let’s just use creating our content here in Hive. Some of us have a hard time creating content because of other distractions. Some think that they are not good at writing in English and the result will be rubbish. Your mind is set on such remarks, and research and proofreading are not done. You just created something from a whim or ‌you created nothing at all.

untitled.gif

Positive self-talk can help you make better decisions.

Positive self-talk can also help you make better decisions. When you're trying to decide between two or more options, positive self-talk can help to speed up your decision-making process and make it easier for you to choose the best option.

A good example is whether you will power up your Hive or just convert it into HBD and place it into savings. You know for a fact that both are beneficial to your account; it is a matter of what is the priority. Some people are having a hard time figuring out what to do and ask folks around for their opinion.

untitled.gif

Positive self-talk can help with these types of questions because it helps us see things from different perspectives and allows us to think outside our own heads long enough so that we don't get stuck in negative patterns, such as worrying about potential losses.

untitled.gif

Plus, no one’s blaming you if you fail. But honestly, I hope that all decisions that we do will be better.

How to cultivate positive self-talk.

  • Be specific.
  • Use positive words.
  • Use positive self-talk in the morning, when you are stressed or anxious, and when making decisions.

In a world where there is so much negativity and fear, it’s important to remember that there are ways we can affect our own lives by changing the way we talk to ourselves.
By focusing on our strengths and weaknesses, rather than dwelling on them (or others), we can find more success in achieving our goals. Whether these goals are career-related or personal in nature – positive self-talk works!

Andami nang nega sa mundo - wag ka na dumagdag pa.
gif's used on the blog post are Peakd's interface

Sort:  

Self talks are very important for anyone to succeed, they are internal motivation that keeps you going no matter the challenge, I do know at the beginning of your self talk might not seem it's working but it is, that's why you should get to read books like atomic habits by James Clear, you can get a review of the book in @hivebookclub community, or check my blog, thanks for sharing.

I had the book together with some of Mark Mason's work downloaded it is a good book I might say.

I haven't check the Bookclub community yet, but I might do so in the next few days.

Thanks, it will really help us all

Minsan mag self talk din ako. Hehe
Pagagalitan angvsarili sa katangahan. Hahaha
Maganda din ito para mka express sa ating emosyon. ☺️

Ayyyy I also do this lalo na kapag nagpasaway ako hahah. Di ako mapagalitan ni wife at ako pa ang galit madalas kaya ako nalang ang mag sermon sa sarili ko.

untitled.gif

Hahahahaha... Apir

I Personally do self talks a lot not Infront of people cuz they might say this person is gone mad cuz of using mobile !LOL

Have always found a bit relief from stress when I spend time talking about particular stuff. Well written buddy!!!

A priest was arrested at a church
He was convicted for mass murder.

Credit: reddit
@tpkidkai, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @idksamad78699

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/2)

Haven't tried doing that in front of others... that should be discreet I guess. I can imagine the stares of folks looking at you when you do that.

untitled.gif

Thanks Idk for stopping by much appreciated!

I do to to myself most times especially in front of a mirror. It build more confidence

100% We do not have any mirror here in our house but I did this too before.

Looking at myself while reminding myself I can do stuff does wonders!

Thanks, Etorobong for dropping by here's some !PIZZA

Oh my, I always do self-talk. Almost every day. May limit ba ang pag seself talk?😁

Yes meron. HAHAH make sure na wala nakakakita sa iyo baka isipin nalipasan ka na ng gutom.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @tpkidkai ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @tpkidkai.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@tpkidkai(1/5) tipped @etorobong (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

I do this a lot especially if something is bothering me or if I'm doubting the decisions I made. Tama ba yun or hindi?
Also when I feel down. In that way parang narerelease yung stress sa loob ko. kaya 100% agree sa positive self talk. But do it privately or in your mind. haha daming chismosa sa paligid. Mamaya sa balita nila baliw kana.😅

Sabi it's better to talk about it with someone you know but not everyone has the same depth on how you understand things. I don't want to share it because I know that someone is also carrying a lot on his /her shoulder na and what I'll tell can add more to the weight.

Most times when I'm lonely , self talk really helps , going in front of a mirror every morning and talking to myself about my dreams motivates me alot