Adam Sandler finally gave us another great comedy in Hubie Halloween

in Movies & TV Shows4 years ago

39DB7B2EB3254F7690B48CCD53C8B3A9.jpeg

Growing up, Adam Sandler released some of the most memorable comedies of my childhood. Movies such as Billy Madison, The Waterboy, Little Nicky, Happy Gilmore, Bid Daddy, and You Don’t Mess With the Zohan. His Happy Madison production company has been well known for stand out films filled with zany comedy since before the 2000s.

In 2020 we are in a totally different world than we were back then. The same things aren’t funny and with a. We generation of kids in the mix, I wondered if we ever would get another unforgettable comedic performance from Adam Sandler.

I’m so happy to say that Adam Sandler was able to successfully dig back to his roots and provide us with another new character that will live on for years.

Mr. Hubert Dubois

Hubie aka Pubie as he is often called by the town bullies, is one of those “How did he come up with this” characters like Little Nicky, Waterboy, and Zohan. Someone who talks in a silly voice and makes a weird face the entire movie. This is where Adam Sandler really makes me laugh the most.

There is just something about the odd sounds, wacky one-liners, and nostalgic call backs to previous Happy Madison films such as “O’Doyle Rules” that make me so happy. I have great memories watching the older movies with some of my childhood friends and father/brother. We would watch the same movies multiple times just to get good at remembering all of the quotes. I never do that anymore with movies, I usually just watch once and then I’m done.

I don’t want to spoil what this movie is about, but it actually has a pretty awesome plot to go along with all of the ridiculousness. I legit was crying laughing out loud with my brother and his and my girlfriend last night. I haven’t done that with a comedy in such a long time. It’s just when you remember that Adam Sandler is just a normal 50+ year old man, it makes some of the things that Hubie does in the movie that much more funny. The acting is so convincing and I just imagine a guy like Hubie really does exist somewhere probably.

The movie itself has so much to offer and if you really give it a chance I think you will understand what I mean. This will be another one of those movies that people pull out to watch with the family in October 10+ years from now. It’s safe to say that Adam Sandler still has it.

I’m sure many will call this movie a terror in the worst way, but people like me with a unique sense of humor will cling to this adaptation. By far one of the best Halloween comedies I can remember watching in the last 20 years or so.

It’s available to stream on Netflix now. I’ll leave the trailer below, but don’t let it sway you. Give this one a chance. You’ll either hate it or love it.



Thanks for visiting my blog 🤝

Sort:  

Hello dear friend @daltono good night
Hayer I had the opportunity to see it, there are interesting passages, but I get tired and I could not finish seeing it.
I really appreciate this review.
Have a wonderful night

I was getting sleepy when I watch this you, but I was with 3 others who were able to help keep us all awake together.

Oh man I will have to check this out. I can only imagine the cast of all of Adam's buddies that don't really act any longer, they just kind of hang out with their beer bellies lol.

Fun fact, a family member of mine actually worked somewhere his parents would frequent so they got to meet Adam a few times. Was always a really down to earth guy.

It's got a lot of his buddies, they just keep appearing throughout the movie. A few are left out, but you'll recognize most people in this movie.

That's pretty awesome that your family member met him. I had a feeling he is probably pretty chill.

Lately I haven't been having a lot of patience with his films. However, I've been reading so many good reviews about this film, that I'm going to give it a try and watch it.

Congratulations @daltono! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Well, i thought it was ok but not great. I did laugh a bit but I did feel as though he was a crossover between Bobby Bouche from Waterboy with a tinge on Little Nickey mixed in. Dude has done so many films though that I suppose he can't always come up with a totally new character.

This was for sure a blend of older characters, but I think that's why I liked it so much. It has been so long since I've had anything new from those wacky dudes. Hubie wasn't totally original, but that's what made him so memorable to me.

that's a very good point and probably why this film is getting much more favorable reviews than we have come to expect from Sandler comedy stuff in the recent past.