Star Wars: The Phantom Menace 25th Anniversary

Yesterday I went to the cinema for the first time in a good few months, because it was the final nights showing of The Phantom Menace.

It was back in cinema's because it was the 25 year anniversary of the film, and it was a great chance to see it again on the big screen.


Source


Seeing It Again

It had been a while since I watched this one, and while it gets a lot of flack, and hate from the fanbase - especially upon release - I think many people have warmed to this film in particular.

When this released in 1999 I was around 7, and was just about the demographic they were going for with this installment to the franchise.

By time it came around I was already a huge Star Wars fan, and can still remember my dad buying us the 1997 Special Edition re-release boxset on VHS. I actually still have it, although, the box has seen better days and the tape is probably worn out due to religious viewings.

There are so many aspects of this film that I loved as a kid, and still love upon watching it again.

The Pod Race sequence for example will never get old, and the duel at the end of the film was done really well and was one of the first times seeing something of that magnitude, also I always loved the battle too.


A snap from the theatre itself, as we were waiting for it to start.

Being able to watch the opening crawl on the big screen, and with the cinema sound system was amazing.

I'd love to be able to bring Kaleb to these films in the future when he's a bit older and if they re-release them for the cinema.

Maybe by time the 30th anniversary of the film comes out he'll be old enough to enjoy it.


The Pod Race

Having watched so many documentaries about George Lucas and his life before film, I have an insight into his mind and putting that knowledge to use I noticed something about the pod race in particular.

People usually say that the pod race is one of the best things about the film, and that's because it kind of is.

The attention to detail when showing off the pods, the drivers (or pilots?) and the commentators, as well as the crowds reactions are all so well done.

Tension throughout rises as we see crashes, and get to understand just how dangerous this sport is. Every time there is a crash the commentators kind of make a joke of it, and the crowd seem to lap it up, as though they are blood thirsty, watching - what is essentially - a blood sport.

We're fearful for Anakin's safety, and understand that there is a lot riding on this race in terms of the bet between the main characters and Watto.

This is where George Lucas really shined, most likely due to his own passion in fixing up hotrods, and street racing, which he partook in as a teenager.

His passion for it shines through in this sequence, and it takes up a good 20 minutes of the runtime.

Use of sound design, and in general the look and design of each pod, and racer is amazing, the music is great and fits it so well, and the use of no score is used well too, to build up tension. It actually kind of reminded me of the 'trench run' in the first film.

The film falls when it comes to other aspects of it though, and sadly this sequence alone isn't enough to hold up the entire film.


Source


The Dialogue

There are so many aspects of the dialogue that really lets this film down, and a lot of it seems to be amateur level mistakes.

I have no idea if George Lucas continued to write and learn the craft in the years leading up to this film, but I do know that extended periods of time not writing - or practicing any art form - can make you rusty. So, I'd be curious about whether he kept up with it at all leading up to making this movie.

There are many times that characters speak for no reason.


Examples

Two characters stand in the desert, as a dust storm rages.

Character 1: "This dust storm will slow them down."

Character 2: "Yeah, it looks pretty bad."

The problem with this scene is, we've already been told there's a dust storm in the previous scene, and Anakin offered the main characters shelter from it.


The battle droids start to deactivate and fall to the ground.

Character 1: "They must have blown up the control ship. The droids are deactivated."

Character 2 pushes one over.

Character 2: "They're broken."

The problem with this is, 1/ you're telling us the same thing in two different ways, and 2/ we've already seen Anakin destroy to control ship, so you're telling us what we already know.

All that needed to happen here is show the droids fall, and everyone cheer, or in fact, make it funny by having the droids fall, and make Jar Jar take credit for it in some way.


Thinking about it too, I don't think the Gungan's were actually told about the plan to send pilots up to take out the control ship.

Queen Amidala essentially tells her generals that they're using the Gungan's to divert most of the army away from the city so they can go in and capture their leaders. That was a bit weird, because it's almost like they're knowingly using the Gungan's as canon fodder.


This kind of stuff happens so many times throughout the film.

I think the issue with it is that while trying to pander to little kids, he alienated a lot of the older audience members.

It's difficult to make something that caters to kids, while also staying interesting for adults.

So much of the film is taken up by political talk of trade routes, Politian's, corruption, then Jar Jar steps in poo, it's kind of all over the place tonally.



Source


The Political Talk

I didn't feel lost with all the political talk, and if anything I think it does make sense, and is a decent way to show the rise of tyrants.

Problem - The emperor sends the trade federation to invade Naboo.

Solution - Talk politics and rally support to aid Naboo.

Problem - The council of planets are kind of corrupt, and won't act.

Reaction - Queen Amidala votes no confidence for the current chancellor, and that gives rise to Palpatine.

Since Palpatine knows how asking for aid will go he knows that they won't get anywhere, and he even whispers in Amidala's ear as all of this is playing out, forcing her to rule no confidence in the current head.

It makes sense, and is good to see that side of things, especially knowing how things will go in the following films.

Civil War breaks out, during the chaos absolute control is taken, and then all the loose ends are tied up and killed, leaving only rebels and dissidents to fight the new regime.

Also, it's not like there was none of this sort of talk in the original films. Many scenes revolve around Tarkin talking with people about their regions, and attempts to squash the rebellion.

But, due to the tone shift from silly kids film, to political intrigue, it's a little bit jarring, and doesn't really fit.



Source


The Film As A Whole

There are a lot of issues, don't get me wrong, but nonetheless, I enjoyed it, and do like this movie.

Maybe it's just nostalgia talking, but I don't think it's as bad as people say. Yes, just about everything Jar Jar does is irritating, but there were many times I laughed at him and his absurdity.

Much of it doesn't feel like Star Wars.

Everything on Tatooine is cool, and in general the entire sequence there is interesting.

Having watched the behind the scenes of this film, I can also appreciate just how much of it was practical. Real sets, real ships, models, and all of that mixed with CGI, works well.

Even Jar Jar looks great, and has some good texture to his skin. But, I did notice that some of the Gungan's warriors in the final battle have very dated CGI, which shows them as being copy and pasted low-ish resolution models.

However, for a film that is sporting SFX that are 25 years old, it holds up pretty well.

Sort:  

Yes finally Star Wars, it does get a lot to hate 😂💯 it's classic 🥰 who's your favorite character though, mine's this Guys 😂 Vader himself

I think one of my favourite characters is Jabba the Hutt, I love baddies who know they're bad and love it, but over the years my favourite characters have changed a good few times.

Absolutely man I also love those confident villain roles 😂😂😂😂

Even my kids were not around to see this originally. As someone who saw the original in 77 I had great hopes for this, but when it opens with 'trade negotiations' it did not look good. Of course the pod race is fun and so is the submarine journey through the planet, but the dialogue sucks a lot of the time. Amidala comes off as annoying and there are some racial stereotypes that really seem wrong. The light sabre battles as not bad as we'd only had old men and a novice before.

I will still watch it again some time, but I will go back to the originals for the fun.

!BEER

Oh yeah, I've always liked the submarine journey, "there's always a bigger fish," haha, I like those little adventure moments in movies of all kinds.

A lot of people complain about racial stereotypes, but in a way, I kind of find it funny. I don't know if his intention was to actually do that, but those trade federation guys are a bit suspicious. Also Watto the junk trader is a bit sus too.

Then again though, he's kind of always included stuff like that. The Jawa's from the originals are essentially space gypsies.


Hey @killerwot, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Cool! i was actually already 17 when this came out but I watched it with my younger brother ( who must have been your age, back then, probably 8 )and my late dad.
I actually enjoyed this one quite a lot.
Boas memorias!

I like this one too, and don't believe it deserves half the hate it gets, because there are so many cool aspects to it, but there are a bunch of things it could have done better.

I'm delighted I got to go see it again on the big screen, and kind of hope they bring the other ones to the cinema too.

Such a classic movie. I haven't watched that before. But it sounds interesting.

I'm a big fan of Star Wars, and every year I have a Star Wars weekend, watching all the parts :) But it's definitely great to watch them in the cinema. I wasn't born yet when the first three parts were released, so I never had the chance to watch them in the cinema. And episodes 4, 5, and 6 are still the best ;)

may the 4th be with u 😂

4, 5, and 6 are by far my favourite of the entire sage, but I do have a soft spot for the prequel films, one thing I love is all of the designs for the ships and the fact that they went out of their way to make something new, rather than just giving the older ships a fresh coat of paint... cough cough the sequels.

Wow... 25 years old, this movie is practically my age. When it came out I was barely a year old. It is impressive how much this film and the rest of its main saga have included in my life and in my tastes and preferences. I became a Star Wars fan, but of the main saga, nothing more. Oh, and maybe from an animated series that they also made at that time and that appeared a lot on Cartoon Network.

Your post is very good and I share your opinion about this film. By the way, you see the special effects of this one that is from 25 years ago and you are surprised that it is much better than many current films. 🧐

That animated series was sick, is that the 2D one that was made by the creator of Samurai Jack? I like the 3D Clone Wars too, but some of it comes across as too childish, beneath all that stuff there are some great episodes that are surprisingly mature considering some of the kid humour.

Yeah, I became a fan of the originals when I was a really little kid, and as I got older the prequels came out, they didn't match the originals, but I did enjoy them as a kid. I remember watching every trailer for the clone wars religiously as I was waiting for it to come out.

Wow, this is one of the movies that I loved. I still can remember why Qui Gon Jin have to die.

Yeah, that's a sad moment. The film has so many great parts to it, but as a whole there are certain things that let it down.

Yes, it really makes me sad when Qui Gon Jin died.