You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Star Wars: The Phantom Menace 25th Anniversary

in Movies & TV Showslast month

Even my kids were not around to see this originally. As someone who saw the original in 77 I had great hopes for this, but when it opens with 'trade negotiations' it did not look good. Of course the pod race is fun and so is the submarine journey through the planet, but the dialogue sucks a lot of the time. Amidala comes off as annoying and there are some racial stereotypes that really seem wrong. The light sabre battles as not bad as we'd only had old men and a novice before.

I will still watch it again some time, but I will go back to the originals for the fun.

!BEER

Sort:  

Oh yeah, I've always liked the submarine journey, "there's always a bigger fish," haha, I like those little adventure moments in movies of all kinds.

A lot of people complain about racial stereotypes, but in a way, I kind of find it funny. I don't know if his intention was to actually do that, but those trade federation guys are a bit suspicious. Also Watto the junk trader is a bit sus too.

Then again though, he's kind of always included stuff like that. The Jawa's from the originals are essentially space gypsies.