Sort:  

I will probably watch this series. I love history. I love binge watching shows. I have a lot of different thoughts on Hitler both good and bad. I see similarities between Germany at that time in the 1930s and where America is today in the 2020s.

Agree on the similarities, and I hope you'll enjoy the show.
!BEER


Hey @joeyarnoldvn, here is a little bit of BEER from @stortebeker for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Absolutely loved this show. Not as keen on S3.. not enough dancing. But loved it. Great review.

You know, when I first started watching season 3 I was sure that I had missed something, it felt so different from the previous two. But then after watching them all together, I realized that the story fits seamlessly. It's just the story approaching the stock market crash that gave it this weird feeling. So all in all, a ingeniously well made show.

I really want to watch it again but the hubs isn't keen. It was just a whirlwind of delight imo. Loved it.

Season 3's are usually strange beasts. I found Westworld S3 to be odd as well, but after digesting it, I realise I loved it and I want to watch it again too!

You and I have such similiar tastes in series - I think we definitely wouldn't argue over the remote!

Schülertheater!
If I had to choose only one word to critique BB, that would be it.
Never in the field of human conflict has a show left me with such a stale taste in my mouth.
And it all comes down to the screenwriting.
If it´s not on the page, it´s not on the stage. The plot chickens.
I did not read the novels which BB is based on, I just read they were not particularly good,
so what to expect from the movie, right?
Well, it could have been better with some writing talent applied.
I watched it in German, guess it won´t get any better in English.

Wether it is because three different directors worked on it in a collaboration,
or because Medienboard Berlin Brandenburg (a State film board) gave 10 million Euro in support (and therefore probably people without skills had a say in the movie),
or because it is a co-production between Sky (a private TV channel) and ARD (a State TV channel, so probably more incompetent people involved),
the most expensive German show ever (40 million Euro) failed to impress me on a Gesamtkunstwerk level.

Now don´t get me wrong, it´s not all bad. The show has its moments.
Costumes, scenery, music, dialogue, all manage to catch the Weimar vibe and the spirit of Germany´s maximum city, poor but sexy Berlin, quite well, there is suspense, humor, working class misery, tragedy, all the ingredients are there, but the final concoction is flawed.

After I had watched the first two seasons a while ago, I recently watched the third, and hopefully last one, not in the spirit of pleasant anticipation, but more in the sense of fulfilling one´s duty, a very German character trait by the way, so that at least I would know what I was talking about when writing a critique.

Oh wow! Thank you for writing this long and honest comment. It actually felt great reading your criticism of this show, particularly after I've been gushing all over how amazing it was. Don't get me wrong, I still like it a lot, and I'm going to keep recommending it to others. But I know, tastes can be as diverse as punches (transliterated Hungarian proverb), and there's nothing wrong with not liking something, or with saying so. Especially in a comment on a post praising the same thing. So thank you for that.

Now, however, I'd be quite curious if you've seen Das Boot, and what you thought of it. Later on I also want to write a(n equally positive) review on Dark, as I found these three German series to be way above what I'd normally expect from a German production. But once again, I realize that not everyone shares my taste (nor should they), but I sure would like to hear about it, even if they don't.

I haven´t seen Das Boot , the series, yet, only the Petersen movie, which is great, and I hadn´t heard about Dark, so more stuff to check out, thanks.

Yes, please take a gander, and then tell me what you thought. Das Boot is a series very much like the movie, and Dark has to do with time traveling in a small town in Germany.

Well-done review, and if I can find this on any of my free movie-watching places, I'll give it a watch. Until then, binge on some !wine, or don't, I think that's called alcoholism.

I think it should not be too hard to find it on a good torrent site. Maybe not dubbed, but with English subtitles for sure.

Thanks for the comment and the wine! You know, I have been sort of reluctant to offer you !BEER , even the virtual kind, with you being Rasta and all. But since you are obviously not opposed to virtual wine, here's to you! Cheers! ;-)

Haha, virtual intoxication is okay, but I would be in full support of a Club Soda or Tonic Water token. Until then I'll use wine and beer. Thanks my man. By the way, Srey-Yuu (@KidSisters) finished her markdown post, and I'll be publishing it for her in a little while after checking for any major mistakes.

I'll be sure to make a post about my markdown techniques in the near future, and I'll show some more challenging markdown methods.

Awesome! I'm excited! :-)


Hey @justinparke, here is a little bit of BEER from @stortebeker for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.