What do you do with... potato?

in CCC4 years ago

I rarely buy potatoes.
I don't like to peel them. I did do that too much as a child. On Monday's I had to peel potatoes for a week. They stood in a bucket of water outside.
I do not like the smell of potatoes, they easily get rotten. If I buy them they need to be new so we can eat them with the scale. No peeling for me.
I don't think the taste is extraordinary. I can do without.

Once in a while, we eat French fries.
If I can afford to buy oil I fry the frozen bought fries myself. If not I buy the frozen French fries for the oven and make them in my air dryer. It tastes different but it's okay. My children are happy with it. One kilo of frozen French fries is cheaper as potatoes so I do not see the need to peel, wash, cut them myself.

We rarely eat cooked potatoes.
It's way to dry to swallow it so I cook and bake/fry them with some oil in a pan. They taste great with onions and if you like you can add ham or bacon or mushrooms too.
My youngest, the one who grew up with pancakes and French from, likes them more. I guess that's a compliment. It's more work so let's say I might do it twice a year. I am clearly not a potato eater.

Mashed potatoes.
What shall I say? Why peel, wash, boil, mash a good potato?
I can buy bags with a powder and just need to add hot water/milk to it and if I like some butter. Again these bags are cheaper as buying potatoes, I can save them for years plus it saves me a lot of work and gas to cook.
The only reason to use mashed potatoes is if I make a stew with vegetables like the carrot and onions, cabbage or if I want to make a quick meal to fill the children's stomach with.

Potato chips.
It's not my favourite snack. I rarely buy it. If I prefer to eat it with some sauce.

You can make a battery out of a potato too.

This is my entry to the CCC contest What do you do with... hosted by @gertu
Theme: potato

#CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests are hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.

Source photos if not mine: pixabay.com

Sort:  

Very well, we upvoted and reblogged your post to thousand followers.. Thank you very much to choose @puncakbukit as witness and curator.

Okok the ccc topic is potato I will try it today. 😊

No, no the potato is the topic of @gertu her CCC contest.

@felixgarciap has poem or lyric about "carrot"
@olivia08 a photo about flowers
@team-ccc has "what does CCC means to you"
@freedomshift has "what does today mean to you"
@marblely has my favourite... (Look for the theme I forgot) and I host "Looking back look forward" with a theme too.
So 7 people host a CCC contest, all different.

Thank you for the information dear

Las papas congeladas aquí son más costosas que comprar las papas enteras. Pero cada quien encuentra su camino para comerlas. Gracias por escribir tu historia con las papas.

Frozen potatoes here are more expensive than buying whole potatoes. But each one finds his way to eat them. Thanks for writing your story with the potatoes.

You are welcome. It's strange indeed frozen is cheaper...it's peeled, cut, washed, fried, packed and frozen.

Atrapada con las papas. La verdad es que cuando mi hija se sentí a mal del estómago le preparaba puré de papas y era lo que mejor le caía. A mí me encantan @wakeupkitty.pal

Caught with the potatoes. The truth is that when my daughter sent a sick stomach, I made her mashed potatoes and it was what she liked best. I love @wakeupkitty.pal

Perhaps there's something in it that helps her stomach. We drink tea with Dutch toast or biscuits. 💕

I love potatos!! My son, on the other hand, doesn't like them unless they come in a bag of chips.

One of my favourite ways of serving them is slicing them, boiling them til tender, then baking them with cheese, bacon, and spring onion on top.

It's good to do with mashed potato too. Peel, boil, mash, spread out over a baking tray and bake with cheese and bacon and onion.

I also like using sliced potato at the bottom of a quiche.

And potato salad!! With boiled egg, celery, a bit of honey mustard and mayonnaise... delicious.

I, too, hate peeling them. I personally can't stand the powdered version though. My dad used to use powdered potato and I can always taste the difference and texture.

I love potato salad too but leave the potato out of it 😂

Thanks for being a member. An upvote for you.
Please note, we might upvote but not always leave a comment.
Greetings @team-ccc

Thank you for your support

hehe @wakeupkitty
you don't like potatoe but you write a nice post about them
hehe

I do not like pancakes and pasta either and better not asked how many times I made and ate it ☹💕

hehe
♥♥♥