The Journey Begins Anew!

in "ITIWBZ..."2 years ago

My fourth post ever on Hive (pre-fork Steemit to be accurate) occurred on September 21st of 2016 and featured one of the first pieces of character concept art for my comic "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..."

It's hard to believe that was more than five years ago. So much has changed in that time both with Hive and the blockchain world, and much for me personally as well. For me, the creation of this comic book and my presence and journey on Hive have been indelibly linked. The one thing that has not changed, that seems to be an ever present constant... is that I'm still working on "I Thought It Would Be Zombies...!" 😅

I did indeed release a small print run of the first issue in 2019, however even as I sent it off to the printer I labelled it a "Preview Edition" as I knew it didn't live up to my vision, expectations, or even my abilities at that time. Since then I (hope) my skills have continued to improve, and I know that the process and care I'm approaching each page and piece with is on a higher level as well.

For the first time ever I'm working on "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." full time! I'm treating it as my job and hopefully as the launchpad for my new career. The journey begins anew as I'm pretty much starting from scratch, using the prior published issue as nothing more than a rough reference for the work to come.

Today was a productive day so I wanted to end on an even higher note with this little "freewrite" post and sharing the start of this next chapter in my endeavors! I was up early and did an hour of practice warmup sketching, I'm trying to make that a habit, and throughout the day picked away at finishing the pencil artwork for page 1 of the real issue #1 of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..."


ITIWBZ_001.jpg


Now, since I'm planning on executing all the stages of production (pencils, inks, colors) myself; I don't necessarily need to render this detailed at this initial stage. However, I'm approaching this first issue with a twofold purpose. In addition to launching my creator owned project, I also intend this first issue to serve as my portfolio and calling card to potentially expose myself to freelance opportunities in the industry as well. As such I do want to have each stage finished to a high level as many editors and potential clients may want to see just the pencils, etc. I've got to resist the time saving temptation to say, "Oh, I'll just leave that for the inks..."

And damn, I'm already realizing I could use the time savings though! It's amazing how time has flown and seems to have no meaning anymore. I've already started booking comic conventions for next year thinking that it's a lifetime away... but the first is right around the corner, the first weekend in March! Once I really broke down a production schedule and looked at the pace I'll need to keep in order to have a first issue ready for that convention... it's going to be tight. Especially because (idiot that I am) I've decided to make this first issue a double sized debut featuring 48 pages of story instead of the standard 24, which was the length of the preview edition previously released.

The one thing I have going for me is that this is my job now. It's still going to be a trial to bring all my focus and energy to the table every day... but I don't have to cram this workload in after hours on end at a soul sucking day job!

So, if you've been with me here for years... thank you! for all your support and I hope I'm not beating a dead horse as I retread some of the same ground from years ago. If you're new to my blog then welcome and I hope you enjoy the ride.

You may notice this is the first post I'm making in an official "ITIWBZ..." community that I registered some time ago. It's on my "to-do" list to get it prettied up and ready for my legion of fans to come (fingers crossed) but I figured I'd best start using it a bit! I hope it will be a cornerstone of sharing my comic on Hive in the future, so please feel free to join if you're interested. In the days to come I'll have more preview artwork of course, and also be announcing some plans for honoring/transitioning my "OG" Fundition supporters from back in the day, and I'll be hoping to solicit some conversation and feedback around future NFT sales and the distribution of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." #1.

But... one thing at a time! As the saying goes, "A journey of a million miles begins with a single step." Which is thankfully still true even if you're beginning that journey anew a second time.

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me for more behind the scenes looks at the creation of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Your votes help support its production! Also look for limited edition digital artwork for sale on NFTShowroom.com

Showroom.png

Sort:  

Question: would you ever do a custom drawing for a friend of mine as a Christmas gift?

It's certainly something I'd consider! Let me know some more details of what you'd have in mind either here or you can send me a message via my site to take it to email.

Probably a simple comic drawing of a friend's new kitten with a basic theme I can detail later (likely paired with one other animal as an inside joke). Whether it's a print or digital, whatever is more practical for you with your schedule/time. She buys custom art prints/drawings/supports artists like you... has a ton of stuff like that on framed her wall. Would that be viable enough to proceed with sending a pic or two of the kitten for an estimate? Discord or site email better?

Yeah, a bit more detail and a glimpse at the reference would be great. Discord would be fine, hadn't even thought of that option so whichever is most convenient for you!

Awesome! I like the line weights. Focus is hard. 😅 Treating it as your job will hopefully help a lot with that though! Good Luck. Looking forward to more.🤙

Focus is incredibly... ooh! Squirrel!!!
Where was I? Oh yeah... focus is incredibly difficult.

🤣 Such is life.

Great to see things are still going, good luck with that crazy 48 page deadline!

Thank you, I'm gonna need the luck... and lots and lots of caffeine.

Nice to see the project is still alive! Still holding on to my ITIWBZ NFT :D

I appreciate it! I'm absolutely brainstorming as to how best to utilize the NFTs as a sort of reward program or fan club, so hopefully I'll add some extra fun and value for you in the future.

👍🏻 Great project, like the artwork you have posted. Good luck and hope you will publish more soon!
Regards Thomas

great job, you have a very clean style. congratulations on the pencil drawing, the expressions are gorgeous.

@robibasa ma quello nel disegno sei tu!!! 🤣
!LOLZ

What do you get when you cross a lamb with a beehive?
Mutton Honey.

@bryan-imhoff, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @bencwarmer
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (2/10)

Excellent work I'm following you and I can't wait to check out your comic as it progresses.

Me and my puppy dogs are preparing for the zombie apocalypse as well so awesome job thank you very much!!!

img_0.5844584739785592.jpg

Congratulations @bryan-imhoff! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 47000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 48000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 18