Treasures in Granny's Dusty Attic at the SPCA

in HIVE THRIFTED11 months ago (edited)

Hunting, and finding, rare treasures amongst preloved items can be quite exhilarating!

We enjoy coming to this tranquil shelter for abandoned animals, situated inside a little nature reserve, on what once was a farm.

Capture.JPG

The gracious old homestead serves as a tea garden. There is a little museum inside the old house, filled with history of life in the late 19th century, and the family who donated the property to the SPCA. I shared all about that in a previous POST a long while back.

Today we're going shopping, that is thrift shopping of course.

IMG_20230613_105641.jpg

IMG_20230613_105532.jpg

IMG_20230613_112033.jpg

The community donates all kinds of stuff to help with the excellent running of this animal shelter - The Attic Shop sells clothing and accessories, there's a Sewing Room, a Book Store, A Music Store, a Games Store selling mostly board games, a Frame Store selling frames and paintings as well, a Nursery, and even a Furniture Store, where I found a real treasure!
The list goes on; one really doesn't know where to start.

IMG_20230613_112545.jpg

IMG_20230613_112328.jpg

Many go there to buy preloved goods; some just need a good sprucing up, while our creative folk sees beauty in something old and worn-out, and turn it into a much-wanted item.

IMG_20230613_105834-COLLAGE.jpg

tempFileForShare_20230617-080136.jpg

The framed memory collage below that's falling apart, made me feel very nostalgic thinking that it belonged to someone who once was vibrant and obviously enjoyed a rich fulfilled life a long time ago, and now even these mementos are all slowly fading and falling apart!

IMG_20230613_112107.jpg

Hive Thrifted

My son's girlfriend is a creative soul, and really smart in setting up little side hustles. She introduced me to a local online store that sells preloved items.
This inspired me to set up the Hive Thrifted community where sellers can earn HBD, or buyers can use their HBD to buy the preloved goods, arts and crafts, as well as other collector's items.
Join our HT Community if you have preloved goods to sell, write a post about it and become an entrepreneur here in Hive.
There already are a couple of good posts from Hivers in various parts of the world with guidelines on how to go about it.

I will be writing an update post as we adapt to the needs of our Hive Community.

My shopping expedition at the Kloof & Highway SPCA is a good fit for both #marketfriday, and our new-kid-on-the-block Hive Thrifted, but I was torn between which community to publish. As HT still is a little babe, she needs to gain traction before she'll become a sought-after Hive Thrift Store, as more and more Hivers become thrifting entrepreneurs.

I sometimes don't find anything get excited about at the SPCA thrift shops, but that doesn't stop me from browsing and enjoying a cappuccino and their home-baked Apple tart.

When we went this week, I got lucky.

I found a couple of treasures among all the paraphernalia - some for my own use, but some for my online store as well as Hive Thrifted.

These really lovely Leonardo Homeware soup bowls are spotless, and I picked them up for ZAR 25 each. I can sell them for at least double that price. I have more than enough soup bowls so don't want to spoil my decluttering project by filling up my cupboards with stuff I already have enough of!
20230614_180612.jpg

I had to really dig in the Attic, but was determined to find at least one good pair of jeans; I did and they were brand-new, costing only ZAR 50. A nice pair of Trail Track pants as well that looks like it's never been worn, and also were marked ZAR 50. I couldn't believe my luck!

20230616_095750.jpg

20230616_100420.jpg

20230616_101108.jpg

Hubby spent some time in the music store, and managed to find some nice old CD's for playing in the car, each costing ZAR 10!

20230616_203801.jpg

I've never walked this deep into the SPCA market, and stumbled across their little furniture store. What greeted me? A row of ergonomic office chairs, just what the doctor ordered, usually comes at quite a price. I also haven't had the time to go and look for a really comfortable office chair, they're not easy to find!
I hesitantly asked for the price - ZAR 450 only, a fraction of what I would pay in a store!
I paid for it in a jiffy before someone came and bought the lot.
They were donated by a banking group, likely changing their office decor.
I saw the wasteful expenditure when I was a working gal, while furniture was still in tip-top condition!

Repurposing preloved goods can become quite addictive, and is a win-win for everyone, plus finding almost brand-new goods makes for a very satisfying thrift store outing.

20230616_094841.jpg

20230616_094906.jpg

20230616_203946.jpg

Heart page break.png

I hope you enjoyed reading about my thrift finds, and wish our sweet @dswigle a speedy recovery, great to see your daughter helped you Join the Parade! It's Market Friday!


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved

JOIN Hive using my referral LINK


Join Hive Thrifted
LOGO FIN.png

𝙃𝙞𝙫𝙚 𝙏𝙝𝙧𝙞𝙛𝙩𝙚𝙙 𝙏𝙧𝙖𝙞𝙡𝙗𝙡𝙖𝙯𝙚𝙧𝙨

𝙒𝙤𝙪𝙡𝙙 𝙮𝙤𝙪 𝙡𝙞𝙠𝙚 𝙩𝙤 𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙣 𝙃𝘽𝘿?
𝘽𝙚𝙘𝙤𝙢𝙚 𝙖𝙣 𝙚𝙣𝙩𝙧𝙚𝙥𝙧𝙚𝙣𝙚𝙪𝙧 𝙖𝙩 𝙣𝙤 𝙘𝙤𝙨𝙩
𝙎𝙚𝙡𝙡 𝙮𝙤𝙪𝙧 𝙨𝙚𝙘𝙤𝙣𝙙-𝙝𝙖𝙣𝙙 𝙜𝙤𝙤𝙙𝙨, 𝙖𝙧𝙩𝙨 𝙖𝙣𝙙 𝙘𝙧𝙖𝙛𝙩𝙨 𝙞𝙣 𝙃𝙞𝙫𝙚 𝙏𝙝𝙧𝙞𝙛𝙩𝙚𝙙.


(っ◔◡◔)っ ♥ ♥

𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

Sort:  

Maaan, that's quite a haul. Not to mention a sweet bargain! That dressing table looks amazing, too. I sometimes decorate a house inside my head, and that'd definitely be something I'd want in my imaginary house :D

I'd probably end up in the music section, too, to be fair. Some of the coolest CDs I've got were pre-owned. They work like a charm, and they've got a story behind them. Who knows what someone else was feeling/doing listening to this very same CD? :)

Exactly my thoughts as well!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great finds! I love thrift stores, though unfortunately we don't have any good ones nearby, so since we scrapped the car there's been no visits for me. Which is maybe just as well, since we need more bookshelves, cupboards and cabinets to unpack what we already do own 😹

I'm very very late responding @treefrognada, don't know how I missed your comment!
We don't have many thrift stores here, but this one is quite a unique experience.
You should have a look at the Hive Thrifted Community and see if you can sell some of your preloved belongings.
I'm still in decluttering mode.

I did join the community some time back, but I still haven't found anything I really want to get rid of that I think anyone else would be interested in buying. Plus, the hubby and I often disagree about what's worth keeping 😹 I'd happily sell every single DVD movie, but he wants to keep most of them. Despite not owning a DVD player, a TV, or the time to watch even one of them if we did! He on the other hand thinks we don't really need two dozen different soup bowls. Or is it three dozen now? Even though he agrees that the colour and style of the bowl does make a difference - tomato soup looks better in a white or light green bowl than in a red, while a bright yellow curry looks delicious in the red one, and daring in the purple...

!PIZZA

LOL, I see you're having the same dilemma as I had.
Eventually just put the stock for my 'shop' in a cupboard because hubby would find reasons why we had to keep stuff.
I can see you're too attached to your soup bowls and are finding reasons to hold onto stuff😉😅

I think the best start for me would be to get rid of the "slightly broken but surely we will mend it one day" pile. To the recycling center with it all! We aren't going to fix stuff, and nobody else would want them as they are. Like my sandals that have been lying on the balcony waiting for one of us to buy some leather glue... for three years. 😹

But for the soup bowls and other tableware, we actually use everything regularly, since I always insist on picking the most complimentary plates or bowls for the food being served. Even the hubby's daughter has finally stopped trying to make me give up those or anything food related! And she was quite happy when she needed a rice cooker, and we had one to spare, so !LOLZ

What rock band has a huge ghost following?
The Boo Boo Dolls.

Credit: reddit
@lizelle, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @treefrognada

(2/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@treefrognada(2/10) tipped @lizelle