Sort:  

I used to live a few kilometers near Italia.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Now I see it. I did finish my diploma in Udine and was traveling sometimes to Gorica and Koper. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

We use to buy jeans and coffee in Udine and Gorica while was still YU. One kg of coffee per month was allowed, but only for the people living 10 km from the border. They mark down that in your passport. Crazy times.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

My parents had an Italian friend who had a girlfriend in our city. He was allowed to enter East Block because he was in the Italian Communist party. He smuggled us a color TV and some jeans together with the good coffee. That was gold in dealing with authorities. Real tough times.
After 1994 some of our relatives had modified Dacias with 200L reservoirs smuggling in petrol into Serbia as there was none due to the embargo. As you say, crazy times.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I see. That's far away from where I live. I'm near the border with Serbia and the closest town is Kladovo. We're actually divided by the Danube.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta