You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comments Gone Wild: About the Hypothetical "Hivebeepedia"

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

EDIT: I Repurposed This Comment Into An Aricle.

So, this is the first time I learn the word Almanac, I looked it up and saw some examples of Almanac book, but can you give me an example of what an Almanac page on Hive would look like?

Would the Hive-powered almanac be one you would use yourself as your go-to resource? What needs to happen to make it one?

To use Hive for any type of reference as my Go-to resource, I think these things need to happen:

  • They must be heavily hyperlinked. Look at Wikipedia for example, each page will take you to every related one.
  • They must have all the info (excluding the sources) on the same website/blockchain.
  • They must be on an extremely fast interface.
  • I want to be able to easily link to the references:
    • Users must be able to see all the info without registering or paying.
    • The links for these references must be intuitive & standardized. Users should be able to predict the link URL just by knowing the name of the thing they want the reference for.
  • In case of DRAMA, each "side" should have their own page of the reference material. These pages should be linked to each other but otherwise don't interact with each other. That way, the reader can & should choose which "truth" they want to believe in.

I can think of other things, but if you want me to use a website like a reference it must be much easier to do than using Wikipedia, and that's not an easy task.

It can help if the reference is only found at Hive, like the Leopedia you mentioned, and @savvyplayer's D.Buzz list of bugs.

@magnacarta.buzz @taskmaster4450le

Sort:  

Earlier today I was looking for examples of almanacs to show you or whose links I could give you. For both the search results and I found and for browser-related reasons, my reply to you will get the #CGW treatment. It's just as well since it was going to be longer than a buzz, anyway.

!hivebits

Haha, link to that reply if you posted it yet?

It took me a day to make my original post, so it will be a day or two before I can "reply" again. I can write quickly, but graphics take me a long time even if I have a concept ready. Whenever it is done, I will give you a mention.

!hivebits

What would an almanac page look like on Hive? I haven't thought that far ahead. I've only been on Hive for nearly a year, so I have to think other Hivers (or Steemians before ID4 2020) have tossed around the idea of a wiki version of Wikipedia.

The final version would be a wiki-type reference available with read-only access to the world while posting and editing is done by people with Hive accounts. Data entry would be posts published using a dedicated tag indicating content for the wiki-ref. This way Hivers earn for their posts. After a while, these posts get offloaded to a dedicated wiki space where they are formatted for whatever the wiki-ref needs to look like.

Posts published to Hive blockchain will be available to the world read-only as expected. Content migrated to wiki-ref space will be available to the world read-only through another link. Editing is left to holders of Hive accounts.

The body content for each wiki/ref article would contain mainly links to Hive content, but if an external link is required then it gets included. Footnotes would be where most external links reside.

Links should come in 2 forms, one interchangeable with the other:

  • Standardized link containing dates, topics, etc.
  • SEO-optimized links

Since "drama" would occur during the editing process after a post is published, a distinction needs to be made here:

  • Presentation of alternative views which are just as provable as the original view can be presented as a separate page or section of a page. After all (3+2=5) is true, but so are (4+1=5) and (5+0=5). When different views are true, they can be presented or at least linked to.
  • Personality conflicts, flame wars, trolling, etc, is what I meant by "drama," and this is what the wiki-refs do not need.

When I wrote this post, I was thinking at a very high level about what it would be like. Just your comment and my reply here show that there is much more we need to consider before we (whoever ends up working on this should it go forward) can get to work on making the wiki-ref a working prototype.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I noticed that you were speaking at a high level, but I couldn't help to go in more detail in my reply. This is interesting, but I don't think there's enough return with the current Hive value for it to be practical yet.

That seems to be the case. No matter how good the idea is, it has to be worth it before it can proceed.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta