Introducing myself to Leo

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I figured I should really do an introductory post for my account on Leofinance. I have actually been following the progress here from the early days and because I am not really a finance content creator the only way I could become involved was by commenting and buying some LEO and miners. I must say I have been very happy with this decision and I am now well on my way to becoming a successful crypto trader.



So who am I

My main account on Hive is @ammonite and there I have a blog where I share my sculpture, film and maker work. I have worked in the world of sand, snow and ice sculpture since 1996 and am slowly going through the process of documenting each and every one. I know this content would not be of much interest to people here and so I have created this second account @ammonite.leo to curate and learn more about the world of trading and crypto. I love technology and what is going on with blockchain and since last year has put my work as an artist into hibernation my mind needs thing to exercise it so I hope to be a bit more involved and maybe even talk about the lambo I will buy with my LEO when it moons.



What do I bring to the table

To be honest not much really, Even though I have been interested in blockchain since around 2010 I have never been too interested in the money-making side. In the early days of Bitcoin, I mined a few on my home computer, lost interest for a while and reformated the hard drive, goodbye bitcoin, easy come easy go.
My next interest was in the Maidsafe network. I don't hear much about it anymore but it was trying to create a decentralised autonomous data network and actually dates back to way before the current blockchain revolution. It is still being developed but I think they have missed the boat in this fast-moving world.



One thing I may be able to bring to Leo is my thirst for knowledge. I will ask questions every now then and hopefully through the answers help educate others in my position. I have nobody in the real world to talk about my obsession with Blockchain and crypto and I am sure there are many who are afraid to ask the stupid questions. I pride myself in asking the stupid questions.

I also enjoy trying to curate manually and spread the reward pool far and wide. I believe this will be good for the sustainability of the community.



There seems to be a lot going on with LEO and its satellite projects and I am excited to do what I can to support this community and learn some new skills along the way. The images in this post are some of my sculpture work, My alter-ego will continue sharing these in my other blog on Hive but I hope that now and again I will have something interesting to share here as well, maybe I will make some sculptures about crypto.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I thought you already did an intro a mont ago

Hi, No, Not a proper one. I created this account a few weeks back and made a post about why I had done it but I thought I should really do a formal introduction and talk a bit about myself and my interests in this community. This time I also used the introduceyourself tag. I think there will be a lot of new faces in Leo and wanted to give my alter ego a proper start for those that may be interested.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

They could have declined the rewards

Always nice to see a fellow creative join the tribe. Your work is awesome and I remember interacting a long time ago ( in the Steemit days ).

Impressive to hear that you started in this space in 2010.

I must say that I often feel like an ugly duckling in here - among the finance guys / girls - even though I have been living off crypto been all-in since mid 2017 ( a week after my eyes were opened, my first serious crypto conversation ), mainly because I'm first and foremost a creative.

Looking forward to interacting with you and your content once again.

Welcome :<)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hi, Yes, I remember the name. Good to see you still around. I have always had an interest in technology and the internet since my first computer the Sinclair ZX81. I think the arts and technology go hand in hand for me and am so happy that I found Steem/ Hive as It really brought them together.
I am far from being able to live off crypto but that is the dream to not have to worry about my finances so I can continue being creative.
Of course, as an artist, I am pretty terrible with money but hope that I can learn from the good folks here.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cool to hear that your first computer is from the year that I was born in and thanks for reminding me that I will reach the ripe age of 40 this year ;<)

I agree that the arts and technology go hand in hand but making the shift to digital art often feels off to me ( even though I've been a filmmaker for many years too ). I keep moving back to analog.

It's my creativity that brought me to the blockchain / crypto though and I'm pretty happy for that.

I am far from being able to live off crypto but that is the dream to not have to worry about my finances so I can continue being creative.

I hope and trust you will find a way to turn that around. You didn't end up here without a reason.

Of course, as an artist, I am pretty terrible with money but hope that I can learn from the good folks here.

Tell me about it. I'm doing all I can to change my messed up money story around and am getting there step by step. As a creative, my posts on those subjects might be helpful for you.

If you can find the time, I invite you to check out this recent post by me:

Changing Your Money Story - The Richest Man in Babylon

See you around :<)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I like sand sculptures, I did a few posts about them in the past on Steem and then Hive. Welcome to the Leo community!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hi I would love to read some of your posts about sand would you have any links? Thanks for the welcome.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cool, some of my good friends were there also fellow Irish carver Fergus. Thanks for showing them to me and nice pictures.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

No problem, glad you liked them.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I had to go back a few years, but here is one I did.
https://steemit.com/art/@tbnfl4sun/celebration-of-america-s-treasures

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Welcome to the community. Good solid introduction post! This is seriously one of the best communities with tons of great people and knowlage.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you, yes, I think LEO is one of the more exciting communities on Hive at the moment due to the fast rate of development. Although I may not have much to add at this point I hope I can learn to start putting my crypto to work.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

My advice is to find a lot of free time, because you won’t want to go out of here.

Welcome to LeoFinance @ammonite.leo

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I can already feel the energy and now with the new lockdowns, I hope to be able to spend more time learning and participating. Thanks

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

One thing I may be able to bring to Leo is my thirst for knowledge. I will ask questions every now then and hopefully through the answers help educate others in my position.

Leo community will feed your thirst for knowledge

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Most of the stuff I read flies over my head and everything is changing so much from day to day it can be hard to keep up with all the developments. But. I am slowly but surely getting there
Like you, I am very bullish on all which Hive and Leo have to offer. I am also sure that if you build it they will come.
Thanks, Nathan

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @ammonite.leo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.
You received more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP