You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive has officially reached the desperation phase.

in LeoFinancelast year

I thought I'd reply here and return the compliment you gave me by leaving such a thorough comment on my own post about this topic, instead of just replying inside my post.

I call these bear market ideas,, and they should never be implemented, ever

In yesterday's @crypt0holics - the best and most popular show on Hive ofc - episode I said something along these lines, we should never make such big changes at times like these, they are desperate measures that never end well - like calling your ex at 2am after the 13 tequila shot. We're around the 27 shot, we're not fit to make decisions like this one imo. Let's wait it out until tomorrow when we are fresh and new.

My post from yesterday as trying to give ideas about what could work better than the proposed APR lowering, but I did stated at the beginning of the post that I was against this change.

By the way, I didn't feel like you were trashing my ideas. I actually would prefer to keep things the way they are, but I felt like giving other options to those in charge so that maybe they consider not lowering the APR. Those were the best ideas I got hehe.

Now that I'm done with replying to your comment from yesterday I'll get to the actual context of your post, sorry for using your comment section's clout to reply, kek.

Please stop pitching these ideas: they hurt our reputation and will almost certainly have the opposite of the intended outcome.

I agree. Setting the APR at 20% and using this as a selling point or value proposition for adoption, and then just changing it without really having done any impactful marketing and trying to spread it far and wide (I understand there was an agency involved but that didn't brought much results) sounds like a bad plan. I never really thought of the perception outside whales would have from a blockchain that makes this kind of changes during this part of the cycle, but you are right, or at least sounds like you are.

people holding HBD for the high interest rates are going to decide that holding HBD at lower interest rates is no longer worth it. They will IMMEDIATELY dump their HBD

Heh, manofculture.jpg - I actually said this very same thing in the most recent vid you were listening to, before even reading this post, dunno if you caught it, but this is correct. IF HBD stops having such yield, it's not like holders will say "oh well, no more 20% I guess it's time to buy hive and power it up"; no, they will move onto another stable that yields better or that their granny likes more. My Stablecoin funds are separate from my investment funds, and if even my rookie ass knows this, every other investor will do the same. HBD and HIVE are not competitors to each other, I assess HBD, USDC, DAI, BUSD and USDT and then decide what to get for my stable bag. I then compare HIVE with RUNE, SONNE, ARBIRTRUM and then decide what to put in my investment bag. Then I assess my degen bag ofc, I had to mention it. But HBD and HIVE are not taking potential bags from each other and to think that the 20% APR from HBD is taking away potential investments from HIVE is well, I don't buy it, let's just put it that way.

Btw, wen magitek

Sort:  

MAGITEK

Indeed.

Cool thanks for not taking it personally, sometimes I really have no idea how people are going to react to my harsh assessments.

Setting the APR at 20% and using this as a selling point or value proposition for adoption, and then just changing it without really having done any impactful marketing and trying to spread it far and wide

Hey this is the exact narrative I've been going with too. I feel affirmed XD

I feel like nobody actually knows what aspect of Hive they want to market:

Free speech? Decentralization? high APR? DPOS? democracy? Get Paid 2 Blog? Reddit? Web 3.0? Entrepreneurialism? Play-to-earn? All of the above? It's so scattered.
~ Me

Make a decision based on market research, use the 20% as a cherry on top of the cake, then push the boat out and make facebook ads n' shit like every other start up with something to sell

This is one of the main reasons why I think we should market dapps with specific branding, message and value proposition. You can market the decentralized part of hive through 3speak, the get sharea2earn (which I hate) through liketu, the blogging on steroids through peakd, the entrepreneurialism through HAF etc etc etc

We are so fixed on promoting hive and using hive as a whole as an anchor or attraction point, when in reality hive is so vast and diverse that it is not through hive that we will get adopted, it is through ten splinterlands that hive will explode, but that's just my 2cents.

I feel affirmed

Hehe yes, same thinking fren :D

I mean think about it, does Facebook markets itself as "The best python built app in the market"? Nah, so why should say, actifit, promote the dapp using aspects of the chain like decentralized or DPOS? My grandma doesn't care about witnesses, she cares about being able to count her steps. Hell, she doesn't even care about the AFIT or HIVE involved in the process.

Know your audience, develop your brand, determine the message, get to it. The more specific the message, the easier the sell.

People wonder why web3 is not getting adopted, but it's stupid easy to figure out why: Nobody cares about a web3, decentralized, blockchain powered, POW consensus, censorship proof, cooking recipe app. People just want to have the best interface in an easy to use app where they can bookmark their recipes and the app telling them when it's the high season for the veggie and fruit ingredients so they can make the best pie in town.

Who cares if each recipe is engraved forever in a libertarian, censorship proof, shady database where schizos write about how the government is going to take every freedom from us.

My opinion is Nobody should be tellimg people the 20% is permanent or use it as a selling point to get people here. HBD has its purpose but it’s a losing game to use it as the reason to be here. That wont end well because one day it won’t be 20%…