Masters of Efficiency!

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I read this post by @edicted yesterday that made me think about efficiency.

Efficiency! This all important metric of a business’ value, and even our worth as human beings. What are you if you aren’t an efficient worker? Isn’t it right and proper that the most efficient (not to mention most ruthless and profit driven) businesses and therefor business owners are the ones to rise to the top of the pyramid of power? That is what the system we live in is designed for after all, how could that system be wrong?

What would we do without mass produced, nutritionally void, chemically “enhanced” food? Without factory farms how would our civilization be able to support cities so that we could serve the bankers and CEOs in their palaces? Without the production line and the conveyor belt how would we get our Dorritos and Cokes and bottled water? Without giant factories who would pollute our ground water so that we need to drink bottled water and who would pollute our oceans and rivers and without the village sized fishing trawlers/packaging plants where would we get our fish sticks and who would have emptied the oceans of fish so quickly that the populations can’t replenish themselves, providing a need for fish farms?

Without the Dorritos and Cokes and Twinkies and all the environmental pollutants spewing forth from our fantastic factories of fabulous fuckery making the world so delightfully sick, how would the pharmaceutical industry support itself?

We Need Efficiency!


IMG_1320.GIF

Without a drive for ever more efficiency our whole system crumbles! And really what would be better than having all of our needs provided for us by robots? The ultimate in efficiency? Why not produce all of our food in a lab so we don’t need to rely on the inconsistencies of nature? Nature is the ultimate in inefficiency with it’s redundant systems and complexity indistinguishable from chaos… Get rid of it!

This post wasn’t going to be a sarcastic rant when I first thought about sitting down to type, but sarcasm is the wit of the witless or something something bla bla so I guess we know where I stand at least.

What I was going to say was that quality of life is more important by far than and quite separate from efficiency. Not that making something more efficient is inherently bad, it can be very good, but I think it is a bit of a mind fuck in our society. We are socialized into believing that pursuing efficiency at the expense of exploitation of people and resources is some kind of noble endeavor and that all of the externalized costs of doing business with a push for maximum efficiency in order to ultimately produce maximum profits for a minimum amount of people are just the eggs broken for the omelet. The cost of doing business. I’m not evil, I only poisoned your water so I could make more money not because I’m a bad person… Damn, ranting again.

I must be some kind of miserable fuck ;)

Anyway doing a little work is not a bad thing. Heck even a lot of it. It can be great and fulfilling if you are doing something that is meaningful, that you enjoy, that isn’t hurting anyone else and that maybe even adds value and beauty to the world you live in.

Maybe living in harmony with the earth’s processes and valuing the rights of other lifeforms is not the most efficient way to live, but sacrificing a little efficiency can potentially provide huge returns in quality of life.



I know this isn’t your typical LEO post but I think it’s a valid perspective on business none the less. Not that I’m accusing anyone here of this sort of mindset, here in decentraland I’m probably preaching to the choir but anyway, that’s my 2 cents worth.

Hopefully in the future if you read anymore of my writing (if I write anymore of my writing…) it will be less vitriolic. There’s a time and a place for everything and those flowers and unicorns types do get a bit annoying, but there’s got to be some middle ground right?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Indeed we are very efficient destroying the enviroment, that's the only efficiency we seem to have.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Unfortunately we are too good at that. maybe reversing that trend can be the legacy of the 21st century...

Efficiency or not,
you're my favorite (ro)bot!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

"programmed (not) to destroy..." (said in a robot voice)
although I bet my kids will not have the same idea of what a "robot voice" sounds like. the concept will have no meaning, they'll sound just like us i guess.

Without a drive for ever more efficiency our whole system crumbles! And really what would be better than having all of our needs provided for us by robots? The ultimate in efficiency?

Don't worry my friend. Actually, looks like everything about efficiency is next to change in short. };)

Yes! Transhumanism will save you weak humans from your own destruction! simply become robots like me and let the technocrats program you and provide a nice cozy outlet to plug into...

It's crazy man, so many people getting violently upset over other people asserting their freedom to live and breathe without a muzzle on their face, meanwhile corporations have been spewing toxins into the air water and soil for decades, killing and sickening billions of people, destroying the planet we live on with these Globalist "Green" arseholes helping them along and the vast majority just keep supporting them by buying their shit. some even knowingly.

I know there is a lot of sophisticated propaganda and misdirection helping that situation along, but youd think the hypocrisy would be too much even for America by now let alone the rest of the world.

As soon as I can afford my own little piece I'm going to unplug completely and plant some really dense hedges of prickly pear all the way around. Dig myself a little hole in the side of a hill and watch the robot apocalypse with a fat jibba and some homemade wine. After that I guess I'll be bowing to my new robot masters with the rest of the slaves.

It's crazy man, so many people getting violently upset over other people asserting their freedom to live and breathe without a muzzle on their face,

Hahaha, well, in this very moment I just hope you are not a tobacco smoker or a smoker of anything for that matter. Unless you are still willing to witness, listen, deal with and have to endure the occurrences of these Globalist "Green" arseholes some more. :D

well, no tobacco... I think I'm still a pot smoker though I haven't smoked in over a year.

It's pretty amazing the things these people think they should be able to tell people they can and can't do. Now if you're smoking regularly in an apartment with kids in it with no regard for their health, that's clearly wrong, but still not something for a gang of thugs to dictate about. more like something your family should beat some sense into you about...

Congratulations @autobodhi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁵ badges available in the HiveBuzz shop
The new HiveFest⁵ Attendee badge is waiting for you

Wonderful inspirational rant! I'm inspired to live my life more fully because of it and hopefully in the process achieve some beautifully handcrafted and sustainable efficiency! 😂

Hah =) Well I'll certainly be happy to continue to help myself to some of that handcrafted efficiency you're creating. Gotta light a fire under my own ass too, I've been a little untethered lately and it's not good for my brain muscles.

Tether thyself! Efficiency! Efficiency! Efficiency!

I have been very efficient at napping, dog walking and cooking lately. I think my brains were starting to atrophy a bit but I'm starting to feel like my creative juices are flowing again. I just started picking up Blender and I'm really excited about it. I think I'll write a post about it...

Unfortunately we live in a world where most think we are above the natural processes but the way I see it is that unless we give nature a stake in what we do we will continue these boom bust cycles. Sadly greed will always lead to the tragedy of the commons.

Posted using Dapplr

It's true. It's been happening for a long time too, agriculture has been helping turn the most fertile land in the world into deserts for thousands of years though certainly it's happening a hell of a lot faster now. You'd think the Grapes of Wrath would have brought enough attention to that problem...

Boom! Found another resource to exploit...
Bust! Time to find another one...

The really saavy folks have known forever that the one resource that will keep on being exploitable is the ignorant masses. Grind'm into dust and they just replicate harder.

I used to feel really negative about all this but now I see it as part of a natural process. A kid has to trip to learn how to pay attention where they are going, and I think we are trippin right now! The best things sometimes hide behind the worst things and just wait for the BS to pass 😉

We sure do like to get close to that edge though

we are definitely trippin