Silver Stackers - Struck Bars vs Poured Bars - My Favorite Is...

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

1-9826874587648765136518761948735.png

There Are So Many Questions ..

Bouncing around in my head when it comes to Silver. What is the price going to be 10 years from now? How much should I own? How much should I be paying? Where should I be buying? Jewelry, Coins, rounds or bars? .. There IS One thing that I am sure of by now, and that is what my preference is when it comes to bars..

Poured Bars!!!

IMG_0390.JPG
Monarch Precious Metals 2-oz .999 Silver Poured Chunky Bar

I LOVE Many things about poured bars.. I like the the way they feel in my hand. They are pretty smooth and heavily centered. What do I mean by that? Well, The edges are usually rounded and blunt as compared to pressed or struck bars. I can juggle them around in my hand with comfort and without worry of damage.

When I say "Heavily Centered", I mean that I feel the weight more than a struck bar. I feels like it is more centered in my hand. I suppose the flatter and more spread out a silver item becomes, the more different that weight feels.. okay, I hope that makes some sort of sense. hehe

IMG_0392.JPG
SilverTowne 1 Troy oz .999 fine silver bar

Poured bars are NOT the most refined of silver items. Sometimes they can be downright beautifully grotesque. All those nooks and crannies, blemishes and ripples add so much character to them. Even though they are not usually highly polished, they still give off a nice silvery glow! And as they warm to match ones body temperature, they become even more comfortable to hold and enjoy.

IMG_0380.JPG
Monarch Precious Metals 2-oz .999 Silver Poured Chunky Bars

I won't deny the luster of a struck silver bar.. They do have an appeal to them all their own, but if I am going to base my purchase choice on my own preference, then its the poured bar every single day. I don't know about you, but I never take these bars out of their plastic sleeves.. why? Will they be worth that much more 10 years from now due to it? Who knows, but I know the plastic doesn't feel the same as silver to skin.. hehehe.

IMG_0391.JPG

SilverTowne 1 Troy oz .999 fine silver bars

So What Is Your Preference? Poured or Struck bars???

Hive text divider.png

“One day we took the children to see a goldsmith refine gold after the ancient manner of the East. He was sitting beside his little charcoal fire. ("He shall sit as a refiner"; the gold- or silversmith never leaves his crucible once it is on the fire.) In the red glow lay a common curved roof tile; another tile covered it like a lid. This was the crucible. In it was the medicine made of salt, tamarind fruit and burnt brick dust, and imbedded in it was the gold. The medicine does its appointed work on the gold, "then the fire eats it," and the goldsmith lifts the gold out with a pair of tongs, lets it cool, rubs it between his fingers, and if not satisfied puts it back again in fresh medicine. This time he blows the fire hotter than it was before, and each time he puts the gold into the crucible, the heat of the fire is increased; "it could not bear it so hot at first, but it can bear it now; what would have destroyed it then helps it now." "How do you know when the gold is purified?" we asked him, and he answered, "When I can see my face in it [the liquid gold in the crucible] then it is pure.”
― Amy Carmichael, Gold Cord

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Those are wonderful poured bars and pressed bars.
You've chosen bars that are produced by well know mints in the industry.
You could not go wrong with them.
I like both!

Most of them were a gift from my parents.. also stackers 😁

The two ounce ones have a real nice feel to them. thanks for swinging by!

Hard to beat a big chunk of poured silver!

I Know.. It just can't be beat! 😁

Neat pieces! The thing with struck silver bars, just like coins, is that they need to be kept wrapped, or else they begin to look messy with fingerprints and grime. Not so with the poured; the appeal with those is that they are so raw.

YES! "Raw".. that was a good choice of word. And yes, that's why I like them as well. I guess one could say they are fun. lol. Hope all is well. Did you get new tomatoes planted yet?

I did! And some other things, too. My life is finally beginning to slow down enough that I might be able to post about it, too. Oy.

Sweet! Can't wait to see the post. I need to get to the garden center and grab some (now picked over) plants for our small patch.

You talking about how they feel in your hand got me thinking about some people I used to know who swore by colloidal silver. It makes me wonder if there is some kind of innate healing properties of just holding silver in your hand. I'm not sure I believe in all of that stuff, but it is interesting to hear about the peace it gives you and I don't think that can be overlooked. Nice looking pieces there!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well interesting you say that.. Do you remember those silver (or some metal) pinball looking balls that people would sort of juggle or roll around in their hands? They were advertised as stress relieving or something like that. Maybe that's why I like it for sure! Stress gone and hedging against inflation at the same time 😁

Either way, they warm up to your body temp rather quickly and the smoothness is rather relaxing.

Ah yes, I remember those. That is pretty interesting. I might have to do a little bit of Googling this afternoon!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta