How has crypto and blockchain technology impacted on your personal finance: My story

in LeoFinance3 years ago
I woke up to this post on my feed and decided to join the challenge. And the question was simple how has crypto and blockchain technology impacted your personal finance?

Once upon a time…

It all started in the year 2017; the year of all types of Ponzi in Nigeria. I was brought into the crypto industry as a result of a Ponzi scheme which at that time was using bitcoin as its source of funding and exchange. I accumulated a fraction of a BTC. At that time I discovered that sometimes the value for the dollar would increase and sometimes it would reduce. I didn’t pay attention to it because at that time I was making a profit whether it fell or rose. When the Ponzi scheme crashed I thought the mode of exchange which was BTC had that time would crash. So I sold it for a ridiculous price which is one of my biggest regrets to date. Shortly after that everyone was talking about BTC. BTC had doubled and I felt so bad. This singular thing made me venture into the crypto industry and the blockchain technology
I started reading and I got my second crypto which I still hold till today Ripple(xrp). Later on, I got into steem through steemit after listening to the testimony of @belema. I began my blogging life and before I knew I started trading from looking at those line charts on coinmarketcap. I felt like a boss as all I predicted was going in the right direction. I got into many cryptos. I bought tron, stellar,reddcoin, doge and so on. Things were going as planned. My xrp had increased from $0.16 to $2.8. I felt I was a professional trader at that point. All coins were rising and I thought it was going to go on forever. Little did I know that it was just meant to be a short ride.
Then came the great recession of 2018 where all the coins dropped by more than 50%. I was hit so hard and left crypto for a year. The scarring was massive. I almost tilted into depression
I discovered a lot of people were still making a lot of money. I came back and started learning the basics of trading. I took courses and tried to become a better trader. I came back on hive about five months ago and decided to be serious with blogging. I became a minnow, I engaged and got the benefits. I heard about dcity from @pouchon and @gamsam. I started playing the game. I used some knowledge from investing to play the game. I took my rewards from investing and blogging. I compounded it. A city that started with approximately 300 hive now yields approximately 45 hive a day.
That’s my story.

Pixabay

How has crypto and blockchain technology impacted on you.

When I talk about crypto and blockchain most of the time I mean hive in 85% of the cases.
The first-way crypto and blockchain tech impacted in my life was by learning consistency. I learned this when I was trying to write at least 3 posts a week. This helped me to be consistent in other things like dcity which helped me

  1. I learned the benefits of making relationships on the blockchain. I tried my best to follow up a lot of bloggers both on the blockchain and off the blockchain. The benefits of engagement is just too much. My advise to every newbie is to try to engage as much as possible if you are going to actively blog.
  2. I learned proper risk management from the crypto industry. The crypto industry is a highly volatile market that is capable of going up fast and going down faster. Although I learnt it the hard way, it has saved me a lot after that time.
  3. I have also learned that nothing lasts forever. Take your profits as soon as you can. You will not make profits all the time. I also learned that back up money should be kept so you can buy the dip. Once you have this mentality, your portfolio will rise faster.
  4. The crypto industry has taught me that anything is possible if you are willing to be open-minded. I never believed one could make a living from the online space by just engaging in a decentralized community. Then months after, you can earn more by playing a game. What I can say is read a lot and be open-minded.
    That should be all for now
    In my usual tradition, I will like to thank a lot of people for helping me to be consistent with this blockchain with their various modes of encouragement.

Special shout out goes to @steevc . He has been nothing short of amazing from his support to me and to the newbies I bring to the hive blockchain. I respect you, sir.
Shout out to @traciyork. She just has a way of encouraging one to do their best. Your consistency is second to none. Thank you for the reblogs and retweets. Thank you for the upvotes. They were amazing. You remain a queen I stan.
Special shout out to other great hivers… There are a lot of names to mention but I will like to stop here.
I am proud to be part of the hive family and I can say that hive has made me fairly comfortable in a time of recession.

Thank you for reading my blog

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

That's an awesome crypto story, @bhoa! I'm so glad you didn't stay away from Hive, and those are excellent guidelines for helping others become successful here as well. And of course, I'm always happy for an excuse to use this gif...

😂

Seriously though, thank you for the shout out and for sharing your tale. I wish you continued success on your blockchain journey, and I'm happy to have connected with you. Bright blessings to you, good sir!

!BEER
Cheers man


Hey @bhoa, here is a little bit of BEER from @gamsam for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

In some part of your history I feel identified, although my risk has always been time, it is also a great satisfaction for me in this swarm world of the Blockchain.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thank you for stopping by..

What a touching story with lots of experiences in am matter of 3 years. It is nice to have such experience with you as it is the core reason you will have that zeal to keep pushing on. Glad to see crypto finally paying off right for you. Ye, there are ups and down in the rise of crypto but it all part of the reason why it's unique and long termed.

Thanks for the shout-out. It has been my pleasure to help out people from all around the world. I'm not really driven by money, but I can see that Hive can benefit a lot of people who are less well off than me. Places like Nigeria and Venezuela have more to gain than most people in the US or Europe. I hope your success continues.

!BEER

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Hey @bhoa, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Trading can be a rollercoastee, right? As in here... consistency is key! And well done on that dcity investment, 45 hive a day is massive, congrats!

Wow, that is pretty awesome. I am just now getting into Dcity, so I feel like I have a lot to learn yet. My city only bring in about 100 SIM per day. Like I said, I have a long way to go. I really admire your perseverance. I know many people bailed during 2018 and have never returned.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @bhoa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 9000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Saint-Nicolas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
HiveFest⁵ badges available in the HiveBuzz shop
The new HiveFest⁵ Attendee badge is waiting for you