You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Somali Republic Silver Coin & A Chai Latte

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Lot's of cool stuff there. I would have to agree on the bird over the elephants head. Maybe if they had just placed it a bit off center or something. My wife and I are big fans of Chai tea. They have some powdered stuff in a tin at Sam's club that we really enjoy. I was doing some cleaning the other day and I found an old coin in my stuff. I have no clue where I got it from and I don't even know what it is. I mean based on the writing it is pretty clear where it is from, but again, I have no clue how it came into my possession.

IMG_20220227_094628.jpg

IMG_20220227_094638.jpg

I thought about writing a post about it, but I have so little info, it would likely just end up being a crap post. Plus it isn't silver or gold as far as I can tell.

Sort:  

Hey! That's a cool coin. 1880 Hong Kong One Cent maybe bronze. Let me see If I can find something.

Here's a link to Numista. I like using their site for the odd and foreign. At least it's a starting point, then you can google for the rest.

https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces5657.html

😁 Chai Is GOOOOooooooooooood yum

Very cool. Doesn't look like it is worth much, but I think it is cool just how old it is. Might be the oldest thing I own!

$15 to $20+ isn't bad for a foreign bronze coin. Looks like there are a few out there on Ebay. The Silver and Gold ones fetch a pretty penny though.. oh well, keep looking. Maybe you have one of those! hehe. I know I don't have one 😌

Haha, yeah maybe. I wonder if I cleaned this one up it is nice and shiny underneath!

I wouldn’t clean it too much. Probably worth more unclean than clean. People who buy those kind of coins like them in the aged condition. Sometimes when you clean them you risk scratching them and that devalues those types of coins. Really any kind of coin.

That makes sense. I was kidding anyway. I doubt there is any gold or silver buried under there!

untitled.gif