You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Future: Creator Economy

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Seems like if you were looking to get into an emerging tech sector right now one of the better bets would be storage. I remember reading a long time ago about how they were looking at storing data in crystals because it would allow a huge capacity because of all the facets or something like that. I wonder if they actually got anywhere with that or they gave up on it. Maybe it was just something I saw on Superman and it doesn't really exist!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

No. I remember something like this, too, that claimed a fifth dimension was created within a crystal that would allow just one to hold the entirety of human writing to date (back a few years ago). I hope they're still advancing it but I haven't followed up or even thought about since.

I don't remember anything about a fifth dimension, but I could be remembering wrong. Quite honestly, I am thinking it was probably closer to 25 years ago that I heard this. I think my brain might be fried.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh. No this was definitely within the last decade... maybe last 5 years.

Crybersecurity is also likely another good area. As we find ourselves more dependent upon technology and, if you will, merging with it, security is going to take on greater importance. It is an area that is not likely going to find a reversal in terms of its relvancy.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Very true! I kind of wish my degree had been more specialized like the ones today. Back then it was either Computer Science (Programming) or Computer Information Systems (Everything else).

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

LOL well whatever it was in, things have changed a great deal since you were getting your degree. It is an industry that does not standstill at all.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh, yeah, for sure. I went the Computer Information Systems route with a minor in management. It has worked out pretty okay for me, but like I said, it would have been cool to just specialize in security or networking like you can today.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hard to see that security would become the issue that it did today but it has. And it will only keep pushing forward as we get more stuff taking place in this realm.

Imagine when we have nanobots that are within us (and our brains). The security is going to be crucial. We can already see this with autonomous vehicles. Do not want an autonomous lawnmower hacked and going through the neighborhood like Edward Scissorhands.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't think I am quite ready for all of that. I will probably be one of those who has to be dragged along kicking and screaming. I don't even allow an Alexa in my house!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I agree with you about Alexa.

To me it all comes down to who is in control of things. If it is the likes of Facebook, Google, or Amazon, no things. That is something we will have to work through.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta