Splinterlands | Cost-Averaging My Chaos Legion Gold League Set!

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I continue to cost-average my way into buying Chaos Legion Cards in Splinterlands trying to get a competitive Set to compete in the Gold League Modern League. This is a report on my latstes progress.


Legendary Fiend Cards

I initially started to get all 0 Mana Legendary Fiend cards as they don't really are more powerful a month ago (Link). These have held up in price better than the others ranging around 6$

I have 2 extra of those and they are rented on the market.

Chaos Legion Summoners

After that, I started cost-averaging my way into the Summoners. I managed to get enough of the Tarsa / Kelya / Obsidian to get them to Level 5 and I already went ahead leveling them up as they are quite powerful and there is no way to rent the singles.

From the looks of it, the prices are going down as Chaos Legion Packs are going out way slower than initially anticipated. So overall I most likely did a bad deal getting them too quickly instead of waiting for the market to have much more sellers. It is what it is and I at least should manage to get some money back from the SPS airdrop and higher overall win-rate due to having more options.

SummonersAccumulatedTotalComplete
Tarsa4040100%
Kelya Frendul4040100%
Obsidian4040100%
General Sloan234058%
Thaddius Brood134033%
Quix The Devious3650%
Total15920677%

Overall I'm 77% into getting all Chaos Legion Summoners to Level 5 compared to 48% 2 weeks ago (Link)


Chaos Legion Legendary Cards Rented Singles

I also continue to buy some of the Legendary cards keeping them as single while renting them out on the market in anticipation to use them once the modern Format is introduced.

I currently have 51 of them rented at a yearly ROI of +15.60 % based on their current prices collecting some more DEC. I am keeping each of 1 Single in case they are actually useful in the ranked battles or Brawls.


Upgraded Common Cards

I also upgraded some more common cards after already getting the Deeplurker & Celestial Harpy to their max for my summoners.

The Mycelic Morphoid was worth getting to Level 3 and no higher just to get the Thorns ability making it a useful 1 mana card.

I also got the Choas Knight up to Level 5 as it was part of the previous Battle Challenge (Link) and just cheap to get it there. I might level up more of these types of cards as they get featured in the Battle Challenges.


Leveling Up More Reward Cards


The reward cards are also getting cheaper so I'm just leveling up the ones I got that I believe are useful in the game. After initially doing it with the Pelacor Bandit, The Pelacor Mercenary, The Venari Crystalsmith, The Pelacor Conjurer, & The Djinn Renova, I now also Leveled up the Djinn Oshannus which I already used regularly at level 1, The Venari Seedsmith which will be useful at level 5 in specific situations, The Venari Bonesmith who might come in handy in rulesets where upto 4 mana cards can only be played, The Pelacor Deceiver just because I have 200+ of it even though I don't anticipate to use it all that much. The Naga Assassin as it might come in handy in low mana Battles where the Death Summoner shines. The Twilight Basilisk as an alternative for the Manticore in battles where the stun is key. The Djinn Chwala just for Higher Mana Battles. The Gargoya Lion also just because I have 260+ of them. The Gargoya Devil even though I don't like it just for high mana battles with the Earthquake Rule. The Uraeus just because I'm on a roll leveling the reward cards up.


Conclusion

Having a complete collection gives quite good benefits in the game as each game rule has specific cards that shine in them. I got closer to having a more competitive collection leveling up some more cards which should give me more options. I still have no chance against some of the crazy expensive Legendary Summoners and Splinterlands still way too much feels like a Pay2Win game but I do keep playing and am not about to quit anytime soon. I continue to be in a stage right now where I'm expanding my card collection and the dropping prices makes this easier.


Play2Earn Games I'm Currently Playing...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Doing the same, still upgrading the Summoners, doing ok with it. 2 more left for 8, and the Dragon one will be more expensive. Then I go to the legendary zero mana and the 1 mana cards.

image.png

Good Luck, Summoners are by far the most important. I neglected that in the past and learned my lesson now making sure I'm good on them. Everything above level 5 summoners gets too expensive for me though.

I found that level 6 for summoners is opening many new skill and abilities.

Thanks for sharing! - @marianaemilia

Good job!