Solar Installation In Roughly 4-6 Weeks

in LeoFinance2 months ago

For some reason images are not reflecting when posting from inleo so I will be using Peakd for the time being.

Today I have a team on the roof still preparing for the rubberized paint that will be the final water proofing, but that cannot happen before the solar panel brackets are installed. This is why it has to happen in stages and why I wanted to have the roof prepared before the solar arrived.

My friend who is a German and have known for nearly 15 years now sent over his go to solar person in order to get the ball rolling on what type of set up we need. Looking at the house and he pitch he recommended a 12KwH system which I immediately rejected.

I said this house has to be off the grid and no going back to the grid for top ups because what it the point then. My generator is a 6.7kw and it cannot suffice all our needs so my head tells me 3 x that type of power so we settled on a 20Kw/h solar package.

If a battery needs topping up then we will use the generator to perform that task and avoid using the grid. I do not trust the government on what is to come for those dipping in and out of the grid because there will be penalties imposed. Those tariffs will be much higher and I expect those to be costly every time you have to use the grid. Maybe even double the network tariffs plus a service fee for using the grid.

When I drive around more and more houses are turning to solar, but from what I see the solar that is installed is not taking them fully off the grid and they have not gone all in. I would rather take no chances and have excess electricity than to be having to change my lifestyle around how much power is generated by the sun each day.

The worrying fact is he revenue that the grid earns monthly is going to be far less due to all the solar installations taking place and that means the tariffs will rise. Every year the prices rise by a good 15-20% and that is purely to maintain their revenue nd the higher the tariffs the more people abandon the grid so it is going to be a never ending price increase. Those left on the grid will be paying the difference lost and those on solar having to top up will be penalized with excessive fees because this is how the country thinks and that will never change.

I am still in the dark on exactly how much this is all going to cost and have a figure in mind being around the $10K-$12K mark. The solar kit is being bought at trade prices and will have my own team installing on site and now possibly adding my friends solar expert as an advisor to the bill. I told him straight this morning that I would be using my own team for the installation, but may require him for the 2 or 3 days of installation. This is important so having more knowledge on site should be worth he added expense. This has to be officially signed off by a government employee and this has to be done correctly.

The time frame has blown out a bit due to the delays travelling overseas so I expect this to be completed within the next month to six weeks. Once this is done I can relax and then start upgrading the rest of the house because we need a whole new kitchen now that we are going to a gas stove. All of this is going to add value to the property and expect will double or triple in value by the time I am finished the entire modernization process.

Sort:  

Correct decision to go for 20kW. Solar panels are on US$200 per kwH wholesale so the panels themselves should only cost about $4-5k. They will last basically forever.

The inverters cost less per kWh as you increase the size of the array so you get economies of scale there.

You haven't mentioned how much battery storage but cheap but good LiFePO4 backs 48v 15kwh packs can be had from China for less than $2000. Get 2 or 3 of them.

image.png

I would recommend using 3 x Victron Multiplus II 5kW 48v inverters in 3 phase configuration. They are around $2000 each.

Still haven't calculated everything so waiting for the initial quote to judge where I am at. Not sure who is giving me the quote either and will go and have a coffee later this week with my German friend. Whatever happens the materials will be trade prices.

Wow... ! That's a lot of money, but I'm sure it will feel better when you stop having to be concerned with the rolling outages. It does make sense to go all in if you are planning to stick around and you know there is chance of change for the better. I'm also sure some other folks will wish they had too.

Not really about sticking around and hoping it improves which it will not but living properly and feeling normal. I will be moving at some point to Europe as I have started looking already. That will be further down the road even if I buy something now.

Ah... ok...

Sorry, I meant to say "if there is NO chance for change", but I left the NO word out and it somewhat changed what I meant to be saying.

Understood what you meant and yes there is no chance for change here and this is expected to continue for many years still. Whoever buys my property will pay a premium or I will take it with me wherever I end up moving to. currently on a 2 hour power cut now and all I can hear is generators everywhere. Like having a tractor in your garden.

Oh ! I hadn't thought about the noise factor with everyone running a generator at once.

One more tick to add to the downside.

Considering what's going on, it would seem someone else, if they were determined to buy there, would be happy to find a home already set up with its own power source. Time will tell on that.... as always.

Guaranteed people would want this set up and will pay the extra because it sounds like a lot, but it would be paid off in two years or less . The constant power increases will make it seem even cheaper.

We also have our intention here that we are also installing a solar system, so in the same way, if I talk about the cost here, it is about 1500 dollars and our entire house will be on solar, including three ac. will run and everything else will run.