You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Dry Powder" and the LHP Token!

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Thanks for putting all this together @roleerob!

This is actually the first time I have seen a comprehensive article that at least makes sense in terms of explaining the LHP idea.

You touch a bit on my primary reservation: Is it truly "liquid?" As in, if I have 1,000 Hive in LHP and decide I need to use the money for something, am I going to get a kick in the shorts when I try to sell those LHP tokens? Are they going to be marketable at anywhere near Hive parity, or will any potential benefit from having additional curation power going to be erased by a large spread?

Yes, I realize it's early days yet... so I guess we'll have to wait and see!

=^..^=

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Agreed @curatorcat.leo ...

"... am I going to get a kick in the shorts when I try to sell those LHP tokens? Are they going to be marketable at anywhere near Hive parity, or will any potential benefit from having additional curation power going to be erased by a large spread?"

... this is a valid concern. I raised it myself with @cardboard on their Discord server. And I see I could have addressed it better in this post. Specifically to your concern, he said he and his team would work to maintain a "buy wall" at $0.99 and a "sell wall" at $1.01. I even brought the image in this post to his attention, as it clearly shows they are a little short on the buy side ...

He referenced a 3,000 LHP sell order that needed to be handled and so they would expect to have their buy wall back up sometime tomorrow.

Overall, I have both a high enough regard for what I have seen of their work, as well as my appreciation for the benefits of what they are offering to go for it ... Crypto in general is quite speculative, as we both know. I am hopeful this will be a long-term viable token, given its structure.

Thanks for stopping by! 👍

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Just a small correction, the buy wall usually is at 1 Hive, had to lower it yesterday because there were sell orders at 1 Hive :) Not it's back to usuall Buy at 1.0, Sell at 1.01 Hive.

Okay, thank you for stopping by @cardboard and letting us know that. In my response, since I had not drawn it out adequately in my post, I was referencing what you wrote in yours:

"Currently the service is selling the LHP tokens for 1.01 HIVE and buying them back for 0.99 HIVE ..."

Buying them now at 1.00 HIVE sounds find to me! Anyone interested in your LHP token is going to be concerned about liquidity, as I am sure you can appreciate. On our side of a "mutually beneficial" transaction ... On your side? There will need to be sufficient motivation to keep it going, i.e. the spread between buy and sell ...

Hope it all comes together for the long-term!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta