A minor miner update

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Miner Update.jpg
For those who have been following me for a short time, I have been here on Publish0x. You might have read a post where I talked about being a small-time crypto miner. And I do mean small time. =) I thought I would take this time to update you guys and gals a little on what has been going on.

The big turnoff

Due to a crash, and an ensuing heatwave I was forced to turn off my mining. The crash happened with my mining rig in the kitchen, and my two 2060 super cards. And due to the heatwave and the crazy high electricity price, I did not have the energy to mess with them and troubleshoot.

By 3060 that is in my PC, I also turned off. But not because it was not running ok, but due to the heat being created and the fact I am sleeping in the same room. =/

My friend graciously offered to have the cards running at his place, meaning I could ship them or drop them off when I visited him next time. Which was as good a reason as ever to visit him. What I ended up doing instead, after talking to him about it. Was swapping out my 2060 supers for two RX 5700 XT cards.

So two for two, seems even, right? Well yes and no. This allowed me to sell my 2060 cards, and then buy the new RX 5700 XT cards. And have them be shipped directly to my friend. I will still visit him the next time I am on the west coast. ;) This also achieved another thing, it actually increased my hashrate by a little, but more importantly. It allows me to continue to mine and do so more efficiently. Meaning I get more hashrate for less electricity.

And while I took a slightly bigger financial hit with selling the 2060 and buying the 5700 than I liked I still think this will be better in the long run. And I do plan on continuing to mine even after The Merge. And while 2060 tends to perform slightly better mining different coins, I think the efficiency gained will compensate me. At least that is the plan. =)

And my friend having a much cheaper price for his electricity will also save me a pretty penny or two.

And while the electricity still is crazy high for me, I plan to turn on my 3060 in what hopefully will be the near future. As soon as the weather allows it.

That is my minor miner update. If you have any questions, as always feel free to ask away in the comment section down below.

If you would like to support me and the content I make, please consider following me, reading my other posts, or why not do both instead.

See you on the interwebs!

Picture provided by: https://pixabay.com/

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Congratulations @daje10! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.
You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hello.
Welcome to Hive.

To confirm your authorship of the content, could you please mention the word "Hive" in your Publish0x profile:

https://www.publish0x.com/@Patch

Screenshot 2022-08-02 at 09.47.16.png

You can remove this mention, once we confirm the authorship.

Thank you

More Info: Introducing Identity/Content Verification Reporting & Lookup

No problem, I will fix it asap =)