Crypto Lunch 003 - Crypto funds are not yet accessible privately

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Join me as I cook up a tasty hot lunch using some free ingredients from my garden, while I continue to look for a way to convert Bitcoin to cash without having to sacrifice privacy.


In week 3 of Crypto Lunch I'm making a garlic scape and shallot stir fry.


Last week, I learned an important lesson:

There's NO way to convert Bitcoin to cash without identifying oneself.

I also constructed this currency flow image to visualize what's working and what isn't.

I can move my crypto income safely and cheaply into Bitcoin, which is more widely accepted and more useful, but that still doesn't get me the groceries I need to cook up the lunch I really want, let alone reveal a pathway to privately spend my crypto income on things I need to live - my ultimate goal.

One of the only possible leads I got this week was a suggestion to buy a disposable smart device with cash, use it to download apps and find local crypto enthusiasts who will meet in person, and buy their cash using the crypto and device. Using a smart device (even not officially assigned to you) still ruins your privacy, and this is a very expensive and slow workaround, but all suggestions are welcome and it will be saved for consideration.

"Crypto" MUST be able to function WITHOUT identifying the user (private) and without involving governments, corporations, or banks (decentralized).

I'm one of the world's billions of unbanked humans, many of whom also don't have recent government-issued ID. As governments everywhere move to eliminate cash forever, most of us will be forced to accept whatever digital fiat replacement is offered, since we don't have the ID or bank account to use cryptos.

I believe this is one of the main issues preventing mass adoption of cryptocurrency, and I think it needs to be acknowledged and solved ASAP!


Adjusting the Plan

Since there have been no breakthroughs in the main goal of spending/converting crypto to groceries privately, I'm going to continue to gather funds, research potential services and methods, and expand my coverage of Crypto Lunch to my YouTube, Bitchute, Flote, and LBRY audiences this coming week.

To continue the tradition of tasty lunch photos, see my stir fry at the end of this post!


Lunch Budget

Last week's Hive post brought in $1.10 ($0.56 for the author). This was paid out as 2.692 HIVE. The Steem post brought in $0.20 for the author, paid out as 0.985 STEEM.

BTC: 0
HIVE: 13.918
STEEM: 3.863
CAD: 0
USD: 0

Thank you to those who pitched in with an upvote!


How to make Crypto Lunch happen

Please follow along enjoy the weekly adventure. But hopefully some readers and curators will provide crypto to make the whole process happen! Here are a few ways to do that:

  • upvote this post (on both chains if possible)
  • send HIVE or HBD directly to my Hive wallet
  • send STEEM or SBD directly to my Steem wallet
  • send BTC directly (1NWGEhWfeg4kscoBUFNqzRT1UN7qjLgnVa)
  • use a service like TipU
  • send any kind of tokens to my Hive-Engine or Steem-Engine accounts

You can also help by offering information/advice!

Some help spreading awareness of the project would be very appreciated, because it will lead to more eyes on the problem, more crypto to buy lunch ingredients with, and more people learning how to make crypto part of everyday life. That's good for us all.

Thank you for reading and participating! There's no such thing as a free lunch, so I hope the crypto community feels I've earned one with this post. :) And hopefully there's plenty more to come!


While we're working on getting funds from cryptos to buy groceries, I'm going to whip up a fresh lunch using some food from my lockdown garden!


( Almost everything I eat is prepared from scratch. All photography is my own. )

My quarantine garden contains 40 garlic plants, which just sent out their tender scapes (flower shoots). I snipped them off, ensuring the bulbs will get nice and big by harvest in a few weeks. Scapes are a rare delicacy best prepared fresh from the plant.

If left to develop, scapes grow and then open into garlic "flowers" that produce a kind of seed, another way that garlic propagates itself. But these ones are going to be lunch in half an hour!

I also harvested some delicious tender lettuce leaves, which I washed and put in the fridge for later.

After rinsing under fresh water, the scapes are arranged on a cutting board and chopped into bite-sized sections.

Olive oil in a hot pan/wok, then hard veggies like cauliflower, then the scapes and shallots. Some pepper, cooking wine, tamari (soy sauce made of soy, not wheat), and a drop of maple syrup and spoon of cornstarch:

Such a delicious combination of veggies, with a subtle sweet garlic undertone. I had mine with some fluffy basmati rice.

This is a gluten-free, animal-product-free (aka "vegan"), almost entirely organic meal. Health-building food.

And absolutely delicious! See you next Thursday for week 4.

DRutter

Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

That looks great. Maybe some toasted sesame seeds on top?

I hope people are working on private solutions for crypto uses. We need to be able to use crypto privately, not just own it privately.

It felt like a course of a 5-star meal. It was aromatic, fresh, delicious and just the right amount of flavour...perfect texture and they presented perfectly on a bed of rice hehe :) yummm

Nice! Drooling...
Well I've rehived this post in the hopes of getting more cryptopeople involved.

I really hope this post gets some curation! We needs funds to make the crypto lunch happen :))

Be careful how much garlic you eat at one time. Concentrating foods can have pros and cons haha. #nutraceuticals

Hope you can bridge the gap.