Blocked!

in LeoFinance3 months ago

image.png


And not the blockchain kind of block.

Twitter, or X, as some are now calling it for whatever reason, is a weird place. So many changes have happened since the Musk of it all, but also people at their core still act exactly the same. Nothing changes on social media, ever. It's a jungle out there!

Maybe it's just me but I feel like the block feature on these sites exists for a very valid reason, but is constantly abused just like everything else on these platforms. Sure, if you're being endlessly harassed or bullied by someone who just won't leave you alone... block them. That's what it's there for. However, that is hardly ever why the block button gets pushed.

More often than not I see users issuing blocks like an addict popping pills. People use it as a way to get the last word in on an argument or flat out remove all dissenting opinion from the content that they publish. How many times have we seen someone use it as a threat?

Act such and such way or you're getting blocked.

It's full on adult toddler status on the internet made real. It's become so bad that getting blocked by a big account has become a badge of honor across the entire paradigm of social media. The recipe is simple: post reasonable dissenting opinions as comments on the main thread, get blocked, and then gloat about getting blocked and show off how weak-minded the account in question really is.

La La La La La I'm not listening!

I honestly just can't get over this psychological disconnect that is the Internet and social media. We've all fallen victim to this; I'm not just talking about serial blockers right now. When we communicate through the Internet it is simply not the same as communicating in real life. It isn't real. We tend to use social media as an outlet for catharsis, drama, and conflict. We say and do things on the web that we would never do in person. It is what it is.

As a dopamine trigger

All WEB2 applications revolve around creating purposefully addictive user experiences (UX) that keep them coming back every day. The block button is no different. Even though these companies know that their users are abusing this functionality it simply does not matter. The block button gives these people this god-mode sense of power and so they are simply allowed to use it in whatever way they see fit. The customer is always right.

But what about when they're wrong though?

There are a few key differences in WEB3 that add a bit more nuance to this situation. For starters in WEB3 all the data is public, so while we do have a mute button that gets enforced on the frontend everyone still has access to all the data on the backend. In fact it would be very possible to purposefully create a frontend that purposefully shows all of the content being censored by the other frontends. That alone creates some interesting rabbit holes we could go down. Of course nothing like that has actually happened yet because the value of such a thing just isn't in the cards at the moment. For now it's just all game theory.

But also on a very real level WEB3 takes reputation and right-action a lot more seriously than its WEB2 counterparts. WEB3 networks can enforce this type of behavior because there is actual money on the line. At the same time we can avoid being controlled by outside entities by sidestepping or ignoring the WEB2 data-selling ad model. Everything is transparent. We can all see what's happening on the backend. Any potential strong-arming is visible in broad daylight rather than be tucked into these secretive little shadow bans and echo chambers that WEB2 social has come to employ.

On a fundamental level I would argue that the honor system and personal reputation simply matter a lot more under the WEB3 paradigm than they do on WEB2. In addition, I'd say that it's much more difficult to sellout on WEB3 and cash in on those good graces at the expense of others. I mean just look at the hostile takeover. Where is Ned? Where is that little shit? He certainly didn't fail up to bigger and better things like so many before him within the traditional corporate ladder. Get wrecked, failure: you'll never work in this town again!

image.png

Hey guys look at me it's Ned Scott that dipshit who never did anything noteworthy after selling out like a bitch.
-ned

Hm, speaking of 'failure'.

I write this post today because I got blocked by someone on Crypto Twitter who I used to get along with quite well. That being said this person clearly has some major personal issues because their attitude shift online over the last few months has been nothing but insulting and aggressive across account interactions.

Over a series of discussions I was called an "idiot" for not making money on Solana, a sociopath and troll for making valid arguments, and a 'failed influencer' with a weak ego needing a boost. Meanwhile, I'm just doing my thing that I always do and giving my honest opinion on things, not even trying to escalate the situation. Oh but escalate it did!

The insults themselves are hollow, like most WEB2 interaction.

Solana is a trash VC network that I have refused to engage with since day one. That's just a basic and understandable political stance. Being called a sociopath and a troll for mirroring logic seems a bit extreme. Like if someone says something is a "false equivalence" and I correctly use that term down the line, is that trolling? Hm!

As for being called a failed influencer, I feel like that one was supposed to hit the hardest, but honestly I've never even considered myself an 'influencer' at all so it's kind of funny to even be called that in the first place. Aren't influencers those douchebags who try to act like experts on things and monetize their brand in any way possible? Woof, no thanks.

In any case it was unceremoniously ended with one of those classic "do what I say or I'm blocking you" moves where they block you anyway just to get the last word edgewise. Classic Twitter. End of an era!

At the same time I feel like it's a bit petty to sit here and give my potentially biased side of the story within some pointless and random online argument. The other side of that coin it's kind of the perfect example to showcase exactly what I'm talking about. People love to lie to themselves.

This guy convinced me that he was blocking me because I "had nothing to offer" and "wasn't learning anything" from our discussions. That is such fantastic cope. What this guy needed was yes-men to cradle his fragile ego for whatever he's going through in his personal life. You can't learn anything from people who blindly agree with what you say, and I can 1000% guarantee I would not be blocked if that's the strategy I chose to employ. If we're being honest that's not a bad way to get followers and likes. People love that shit, but it's not for me. Being fake take too much work.

Conclusion

Well at the risk of airing my own dirty laundry I guess I'm about to push that publish button and get my very own dopamine hit. Was it worth it? Was it justified? Meh, I don't know. I just thought it would be cool for a failed influencer to make money from a social interaction I had on WEB2 and turn it into a 1300 word blog post. Like, I know how much it sucks being me, but someone's gotta do it! Damn it!

Sort:  

As a fellow failed influencer chasing dopamine hits, allow me to offer my humble .25c's worth of vote that you can use to wipe your tears. We're in this together as failures, after all.

The Matrix is attacking me.

To be fair, the block button feature is not abused. When you understand that there are different treatments from Twitter Police Forces regarding what you can write (or not), you'll see why people block others.

If you are on the side of the establishment, you can do whatever you want, even threat people of murder. You can report those posts but they won't even investigate.

However, to those on the other side of the fence, it is the polar opposite. Even saying things which don't break the Twitter Policy in any way can get your account suspended. After 4 or 5 suspensions, it's a permanent block...

As such, many people block others simply to prevent them to report their posts. It's a defence mechanism and not a tantrum.

Yeah that makes sense but it's clearly not what's happening a lot of the time.
I've been blocked a few times and I can almost guarantee they weren't worried about a report.
And it also points to an even bigger problem that is also related to the topic.

For so long now, I've understood how Web 2 works, those who support you, and those who want you in the worst possible place. Strangely enough, you'll come across the second option on Platform X, or Ex-Twitter. What a horrible name by the way, damn Elon.

It sounds like maybe they are the ones that made a mad move and they are feeling salty about it now. Trying to deflect from their own mistakes. I do my best to own my mistakes. I'll be pointing one out in my post tomorrow :P I don't do a lot of interacting on Twitter, but I do read through it occasionally. I was talking to my nieces the other day about X because many athletes use it to connect with college coaches when they are getting recruited. I asked if that has changed since Musk took over and they said no. It just works really well for that particular use, so why change it.

The more things change the more they stay the same type vibes for sure.

For sure!

Okay, you got me interested enough to go figure out who you were talking about.

And yeah, that guy really doesn't like you huh haha.

He likes me just fine I think we all just hate ourselves :D

"...purposefully create a frontend that purposefully shows all of the content being censored..."

First customer here, BTW.

"Damn it!"

Channeling your inner fascist despot? LOL

Thanks!

I said purposefully twice in 6 words?
boo

I do that alla time. Alliteration always attractive.

There is no doubt that we see much of maturity in web3 over web2. The issue is the current lack of massive adoption. Don't know if a massive adoption of web3 will lead to a misuse too as it's happening in web2, lols.

First thing! Solana is not a trash VC network! It is much worse than that. :-p

Twatter is filled with groups of people that are polarized. Can't even talk about how fake the moon landings look without getting "community notes" saying that is conspiracy theory, that has been fully debunked.

I get posts automatically flagged whenever i say the true name of the WEF.
Guess, i should avoid that.

Web 2 is very bad for humans. Can we break that addiction?
Can we really design better into Web3?

The best case scenario to frame this all in is that Daddy Gubment loves us and lies to us for our own good. But then that means citizens are always in a perpetual state of childhood. So even the best possible scenario isn't too rosy.

Much worse lol. Nice.

Yeah I think the whole "the science is settled" nonsense really showed its true colors during covid.
The science is settled on these masks that legally say right on the box they don't do the thing.

The science is settled on an untested medical procedure that we know would take decades to understand adequately. When the rule-makers have to break their own rules you know shit has really hit the fan. They can't even win their own rigged game. Yikes.

Congratulations @edicted! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 148000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 150000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

We say and do things on the web that we would never do in person.

That has never been the case with me. As a matter of fact, I'm more cautious online because I am creating a permanent, public record. I may feel this way because I'm from an earlier generation. I love to engage online, but I'm always aware that when I write something, it's there forever. I wouldn't want a lot of my casual conversations to be there forever :)

Interesting timing, I literally just posted this on X before seeing your blog here:

Ned gets the credit for rc's, if little else.