You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive accounts make community NFTs redundant

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Great to see I'm not the only one who ponders these types of things ;)

I'm just continuing to think out loud as I go here...

What would you call the HiveBuzz achievement system?

You can't trade them because each achievement is tied to your specific Hive account, right?

Which makes them not NFTs, but with all the popular visuals that the outside world sees and makes them think NFT.

Maybe this is a good model...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I wanted to complete my earlier thought (had to hit the road then). Would I consider hivebuzz badges nfts? I said yes, now I'll say no. My definition of nfts was 3 things: "verified unique ownership." They're verified by hivebuzz doing the work for is. If I have a 1000 posts badge, I suppose anyone could data mine the chain and corroborate what hivebuzz is saying. So, check for verified. Unique...no, one "1000 posts" badge is the sane as any other. With nfts there are mints and Metadata to distinguish one from another. No check for unique. Ownership: no. Hivebuzz gave them, but they could also take them. I give "Hivebits whale" badges to top 25 holders. I take them back when someone drops out of top 25. They don't own them. With nfts, when you own it it cannot be taken. So, no check for ownership.

Good stuff, fun thinking. !HBIT

I will complete your thoughts about uniqueness and ownership.

An NFT allows for creating a "link" between an "object" and its "owner".
But we could also imagine links between an object and multiple owners. The ownership of the object is then shared among them. Think of two persons (husband and wife) who own the same house, the ownership being represented by an NFT. If the NFT is transferable, each owner can sell their share of ownership to someone else.
In this case, uniqueness applies to the link only, not the object.
We have seen artists selling their digital art as NFTs and allowing up to N copies of the same "image" to be owned by several buyers.

In the same way, when it comes to Hivebuzz, we also have users "owning" the same "1000 posts" badge. The badges are identical but each link to a user is unique.

About "ownership", you are right. As we do not generate a transaction in the blockchain when attributing a badge to someone, the "ownership" by itself is not verifiable. Although we generate a notification each time a badge is given to users, sometimes we can't do this when the user doesn't have any posts (curation bots for example)

Oh, my head hurts now. I've got to think on this stuff...put it the back of my head and let it brew. Something in my chipmunk brain is glitching though with regards to the ownership concept. Got to think more and I'll try to get back, maybe even wrangle up a post out of it assuming I can turn my, "Huh?" into somethings semblance of sense. This is the kind of nerdy thought-exercise I find intriguing. Thank you for the homework assignment!
!LUV

@arcange, @crrdlx(2/4) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Thanks for stopping by and sharing how this works, arcange.

I hadn't considered HiveBuzz when I was writing the post itself, but when I started reading comments the project came to mind as a great case study.

In the same way, when it comes to Hivebuzz, we also have users "owning" the same "1000 posts" badge. The badges are identical but each link to a user is unique.

Super interesting and thanks again!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

More to come. @crrldx challenged me with his last post

Success! You mined .9 HBIT & the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <>< daily

⚠ HBIT will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

Hi, regarding hivebuzz badges, I really like them because they add a layer of fun.

I haven't thought of them as NFTs or not. My first thought is yes they are, just non transferrable ones. I'm generally not a fan of non transferable NFTs. I've been airdropped some and thats fine. But what if it was a nsfw nft that appears? Usually you can burn it, though its still in your history. It's like somebody can give you something that you can never get rid of if you don't want it? How would that fly in the tangible real world?

Gotta go now. I'll get back.

!LUV

It's like somebody can give you something that you can never get rid of if you don't want it? How would that fly in the tangible real world?

I've never really considered this angle either!

We want the immutability of blockchain for freedom of speech (because you can't have it both ways).

But you're always open to shady things being etched alongside your name forever.

I don't know what the solution is because I guess front-ends can just pop up showing all your shady past transactions and there's nothing you can do.

Hmm...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

@forexbrokr, @crrdlx(2/4) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.